This Way or That Way?

The area just north of King’s Cross Station in London is an area undergoing intense redevelopment. This has been ongoing for several years and will continue for several more years. Each visit to the area reveals something new. Building sites are cordoned off by hoardings (boarded up) and these, as elsewhere in London are being used to promote, inform and entertain. See my recent Post ‘Unwrapping‘ as another example.

_DS82635When I last visited this area in Dec 2014 one long stretch was home to a superb collection of illustrations advertising the House of Illustration – the first public gallery and education space dedicated to promoting and celebrating illustration, that opened as part of the regeneration in mid 2014.

_DS82644As I strolled with my camera shooting a series of images I found a recurring theme that could be summarized in just two words: ‘Which Way?’

_DS82636As always, click on an image to see a larger, higher quality version.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure, London, Street Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to This Way or That Way?

  1. suej says:

    Wow! They really are sprucing up the area, I must go and have a look. I remember dingy, run down, and a most atmospheric small cinema, the Curzon. I watched Les Diaboliques there, scary enough but worse when the place shook as the 125s went over!!

    • LensScaper says:

      There’s massive change, Sue. Central St Martins is re-located just north of the canal. Kings Place is home to a major Arts Centre and there is office and residential development on a major scale. It’s a photographer’s delight if modern architecture interests you

  2. oneowner says:

    Looks like there are beautiful pieces of art represented here. This is a great way to make an area visually interesting.

    • LensScaper says:

      There were a lot of items to view, far more than I actually took images of. I must return to take a closer look. The current trend of using hoardings to inform, educate and become ‘Art’ in their own right is a very welcome addition to the cityscape in areas that are undergoing re-development or re-generation and as a result are often in quite a mess.

  3. shoreacres says:

    The sketchbook motif is clever, and the variety of images certainly adds interest. It’s amazing, really, how much of life (and the creative process) falls under the rubric, “This way, or that?”

    I confess to being puzzled by the fellows in the boat. There’s a story there that I can’t quite figure out. Still, there are recognizable visual clues that suggest an outing gone wrong, or at least delayed. As always, it’s the details that draw the viewer in.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. I trimmed the third image a little over-tight to remove an unwanted intrusion. It is in fact the basket of a hot air balloon and if you take a closer look you can see the ropes that support the basket, although they can easily be confused with elements of a small boat’s rigging.

  4. Len says:

    One of the reasons that I follow your blog is to get a different perspective you see through your lens. I don’t shoot these type of shots often and every time I see your pics, I wish I did. Terrific Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much for those very kind words, Len. We all see the world differently. I often wish I had the energy (and the opportunities) to get up at the crazy hours you regularly do to get your stunning early morning landscapes.

  5. Jim Nix says:

    great eye to catch these Andy – I need to get back over there on my next trip – I have shot inside King’s Cross but that’s about it, haven’t ventured out around it…hopefully next time!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Jim. There is so much going on in that area. Well worth a visit. The other place worth exploring, if you haven’t been down that way, is the southbank from Tate Modern to Tower Bridge.

Comments are closed.