Washing on the line

A simple line of washing hanging on a balcony in Camden last week. What attracted me was the symmetry of the arrangement under the projecting curved balcony of the storey above.

_DS82661

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Washing on the line

  1. oneowner says:

    …and the towels on the line are all different colors! A great find, Andy.

  2. I like the four curves: the curve of the wash line, two curves of the balcony above (railing and floor), and the curve of the balcony below. The top balcony could even be said to have six curves, and the bottom balcony three if you’re really detail oriented. Very pleasant photograph.

  3. mark says:

    Sweet. And they did such a nice job of color contrast for you as well Andy. Especially the middle portal blue background against the dirty gold brick of the other two (both of which are mimicked in the clothes, but sadly with a bit less symmetry). I’m sure they’ll improve next time after reading our notes. 😉

  4. Chillbrook says:

    I think you deserve a nickname, something like Hawkeye! Very well spotted Andy!

    • LensScaper says:

      Well, I’m happy to answer to ‘Hawkeye’. I used to be known as Dr Hook to some of my younger patients, thankfully they never asked me to sing any of the Dr Hook repertoire!

  5. suej says:

    What symmetry! Love it!

  6. Meanderer says:

    Aren’t lines of washing wonderful to see – and photograph! I love the way the jewel-coloured towels contrast with the grungy – but very attractive – building. Well seen, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Meanderer. The building was rather a strange mix of the very ordinary, and these unusually prominent balconies. There was washing on three lines, but only one was under one of these projecting baclonies

  7. Len says:

    I have a few shots that are similar to this and they are all from Europe. I don’t see this in the US and it is a pity. Great catch as usual Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. I can’t explain that phenomenon – but in rural areas in the UK, a reasonable sized garden is ideal for drying clothes etc in good weather. I wonder whether fewer people In Europe have what we call ‘tumble driers’ – shaped like washing machines but basically hot air generators which roll the washing round til dry.

  8. shoreacres says:

    Every time I see one of those little balconies, I expect the Queen or the Pope or someone to show up to make a pronouncement. It’s a fun juxtaposition of those “regal” associations with such an everyday image. And I like all the curves, too.

    • LensScaper says:

      This balcony would need a complete makeover before the Queen would come anywhere near it!! It was the curves that seemed to cocoon this washing that really attracted me. Thanks Linda

  9. Jim Nix says:

    very cool Andy, great eye and shot here mate!

Comments are closed.