A sheep with pink ears

Sheep are curious creatures. Walking past a field of sheep, they will line up along the fence and stare. Approach them and they will stay put, until you breach their comfort zone and then they will beat a hasty retreat.

_DS82556_wpThis image was taken two minutes before Long Shadows and seven minutes before The Avenue. It was a very worthwhile walk. The sheep (plural) were back-lit, their woolly coats shining white. The sun, low in the sky, had lost much of its intensity and so processing was straightforward. The shadow areas have rendered very well without the highlights getting ‘blown’.

The final nice touch is the pink flush of light shining through the skin of the sheep’s ears. Absolutely no thoughts of converting this to B&W – those small flecks of pink are the icing on the cake. Icing is good!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Animals and Wild Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A sheep with pink ears

  1. Chillbrook says:

    Icing is always good Andy! The backlit ears and wool are really striking! Super image!

  2. poppytump says:

    Super shot Andy .. it’s one of those images you just want to keep looking at .
    Those burning ears .. that sheep must be aware of all this talk going on 😉

  3. Len says:

    You always find details in a composition that I overlook Andy. You have a great eye for detail.

  4. I agree with Len – you always manage to pull something extra out of the hat! Well done Andy!

  5. shoreacres says:

    When we were kids, we were fond of shining flashlights behind earlobes, finger webbing, and such to see the pink glow of our blood flowing. I’d never thought about the same being possible with animals. I’m going to have a take a better look at my cat’s ears when she’s sleeping in the sun.

    That’s quite a sheep — not our standard variety. What I like best about the photo is the contrast between that solid, bulky body, and the delicacy of the ears.

    • LensScaper says:

      I used to do that too – didn’t we all? I’ve taken images of lambs and their ears are beautifully translucent too. I don’t think I have ever looked at a sheep quite like I did with the lighting the way it was for this shot. Now I wonder what cows’ ears look like…..

Comments are closed.