The Avenue

Today’s pair of images were taken just four minutes after the pair in my previous post (see Long Shadows).

In the meantime we had turned a corner to walk down this avenue of trees and the late afternoon light was now filtering through the trees, and as a result was softened although still had that wonderful warmth to it. What really made me take this image was the group of three people at the far end of the avenue, perfectly placed thanks purely to our timely arrival. They completed the composition.

_DS82570_wpTwo versions of this view for you to compare and enjoy. Another example, in my opinion, of how black and white images can create differing versions of what we see. The colour one is a soft late autumn ‘scape, a pastoral scene perhaps. The B&W emphasizes the forms, shapes and perspective and particularly the light. That little bit of extra contrast that B&W allows, but which would make the colour version too harsh, changes the mood.

_DS82570_bw_wpBut those are just my thoughts. There were some really good thoughtful comments two days ago, for which I thank you: what are your thoughts on today’s images?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Black & White, Landscapes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Avenue

  1. Len says:

    Another particularly well shot scene Andy. Both versions are made better with the group of people at the end of the road. The warmth comes through more in the color version to me. I think that the glow is a bit more diminished in the B&W. The B&W also seems to have more detail and, as you state, changes the mood completely.

  2. bananabatman says:

    Both images stand beautifully in their own right, exactly as you describe. I’ve recently taken to looking at a lot of my shots with a B&W conversion, and I find that it very often works well for me, but since different emotions are evoked, not all audiences seem to appreciate the monochrome versions. I sometimes wonder whether mono is for photographers only?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much for your comment. An interesting last sentence. I speak and write as a Photographer who spent the first twenty years as a monochrome worker and printer. That immersion in the B&W medium meant I really fell in love with the capacity of a B&W image to create mood and its tolerance for contrast (which I’ve mentioned many times in the past), and those feelings haven’t gone away. I think others whose pathway into photography echoes mine would probably share that viewpoint. I think a lot of people who have come to photography since the digital era began won’t have appreciated how B&W can work. The best way to appreciate it is to see as many examples of B&W photography as possible – in print, in books and galleries.

  3. oneowner says:

    I think both versions are strong and each has its own merits. My preference is for the color because of its warmth and I like the misty background. But the people at the end of the path are a nice touch.

  4. Chillbrook says:

    You’ve upped the ante Andy, this one is even tougher. Both images stand on their own creating their own differing moods but on this one I’m going with the black and white, it seems to evoke, for me at least, even more of that late afternoon autumn feeling than the colour one does which I find pleasantly surprising.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian, and I’m interested to read that you feel the black and white version creates an ‘autumn’ feel. Strangely, I was thinking only a few minutes ago that there is no real indication of the time of year in the B&W version (except that it isn’t summer of course) – but it could be easily any time from November through to April

      • Chillbrook says:

        I’m sure my thinking was influenced in part by the clues. However, you can see the leaves on the ground, a few still hanging on.. such a lovely range of tones and warmth in the image, yep, definitely says autumn to me rather than winter. 🙂

  5. John says:

    I agree with the other commenters, both are nice. The black & white adds another level of abstraction which is nice if that is what you are going for.

  6. suej says:

    Both images are great, and as you have pointed out the colour version evokes the season, warmth. But it’s the Black&White for me…I love the shapes, the contrast, the perspective, and the mood created. But then, I used to do quite a bit of monochrome D&P years ago…..a pre-digital girl, me!

  7. To start with the image itself is wonderful. The composition is beautiful. I do like both versions and while I’m a huge lover of B&W images the warmth in the color version does it for me.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Edith. It’s all about the mood, isn’t it? And for some of us the warmth is more attractive than the relative ‘coldness’ of the B&W medium.

  8. Andy, this is gorgeous. The lighting is superb and I love the color version better (only slightly though) than the b/w…I think the b/w misses something – namely the extra dimension that the golden light brings. B/W is OK for most subjects – but when a photo has color that is a huge part of the photo it is a shame to use b/w. That’s my twopenneth worth…

  9. Love these Andy. The lighting is wonderful and the composition is great. I like both versions. Each have their own merit 🙂

  10. shoreacres says:

    Well, now. This is interesting. In this case, I have a strong preference for the black and white. There are several reasons: the shadows are more pronounced, the “fuzziness” of the tree branches is reduced, and the slightly violent green, which I find distracting, is gone.

    But what amazes me most is that the conversion to black and white seems to move the people closer. I’m sure it’s the added clarity that feeds the optical illusion, but in any event — I’m all for the B&W.

  11. I love these both. I always tend to gravitate towards color, naturally, as it’s the way I see my world. But in this case, the b&w rendition is more dramatic for all the reasons already pointed out. Still, I find myself with the slightest of preferences leaning towards the color version here. This is a great image, regardless of version!

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Toad. Choosing is a difficult call. It depends on so many of our personal preferences and how attuned we have been in the past to thinking in terms of colour or monochrome.

Comments are closed.