Painting Flags

Trafalgar Square in London is one of the busiest squares in the city. Flanked by the National Gallery and home to Nelson’s Column and the famous Trafalgar Fountains it is a hot-spot for Tourists. And for pigeons.

_DS82347_1

It is also popular with street artists of all types. On the day I visited several were at work creating artworks with coloured chalks and this one, comfortably recumbent (or so it seemed), was painting the flags of the world.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Painting Flags

  1. poppytump says:

    … and no crib sheet to hand that I can see either Andy – now that’s impressive 😉
    However I almost feel there’s a slight hesitancy in his facial expression .. that moment when one sees *eek the wrongly spelt word in a laboriously handwritten invitation – hence the bottle of water at the ready I guess 🙂
    Nice capture .

  2. Len says:

    I love to watch these street artists do their thing. It is also cool to watch all of the crowds that populate these areas give them room. Nice one Andy.

  3. shoreacres says:

    Do you know what I like best? The chalk residue on his jeans. I’d say it’s a sign of an artist truly getting into his work. It seems as though his flags might qualify as performance art as much as anything else. One good rainstorm, and poof! It’s gone! Or so I imagine.

    • LensScaper says:

      I guess he has to start all over again the next day. There must be easier ways of making a living – those flagstones will feel very hard at the end of a day.

Comments are closed.