Fuzzypeg came for lunch

After spotting a bird of prey breakfasting in our garden last week (click here to see the post), it was the turn of a hedgehog at the weekend, who came for lunch.

He/she trotted across the lawn accompanied by a couple of very interested Magpies and started hunting for worms in a flowerbed. My wife spotted Fuzzypeg (the Hedgehog’s name known to all lovers of the Little Grey Rabbit books) and I was out there in a flash, camera in hand.

_DS82515What will be next? Possibly, it could be the annual Fieldfares’ visit to our garden to feast on apples. If they arrive – hopefully I will be on hand to record them.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Animals and Wild Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Fuzzypeg came for lunch

  1. Lignum Draco says:

    What a nice sight. You must have a lovely garden, and a hole in the fence. 🙂

  2. He’s a cutie. Nice catch.

  3. oneowner says:

    You have an abundance of wildlife in your yard. All interesting.

  4. Haha… what a nice capture, Andy! 🙂

  5. shoreacres says:

    I suddenly realized I’ve never seen a live hedgehog. A little checking confirmed my suspicion — they aren’t native here. We do have boot cleaners made in their shape, though, with the brush bristles forming their body. They’re cute little things, and I take it not very aggressive. Being insectivores, I imagine they could do some damage to a garden. It reminds me of our porcupine. Are they prickly?

    Did you ever read about Huff Puff? Quite a creature, that one.

    • LensScaper says:

      I’ve never seen aggressive behaviour in a Hedgehog. If threatened they will curl up into a protective ball – not an attractive proposition for a predator. The spines are prickly, but if you pick them up with the spines flattened then you are not likely to be ‘stabbed’. They certainly don’t do any significant damage – they are just one of those cute little creatures that we all grow up loving thanks to the children’s books in which they feature. Thanks Linda, as always.

  6. poppytump says:

    Ah what a cute little Fuzzypeg or Miss Tiggywinkle 😉
    I’ve not seen one alive in day time :-/ this one must be fattening up for a cold snap . I hope you see him again Andy !

    • LensScaper says:

      I’ve seen them quite a few times trotting round our garden but never previously photographed one. Soon they will hibernating, but this mild weather must be creating creating confusion for many animals. Thanks Poppy.

  7. Jim Nix says:

    that’s just way cool, would love to see one of these – not sure if it’s considered a pest or not in the UK but over here it would be such a novelty!

  8. It’s quite amazing how many different kinds of animals you get in your garden. The hedgehog is of course very cute – a nice shot.

  9. Len says:

    I have never seen a hedgehog and it is a little like a porcupine without the quills. Trying to catch up as life sometimes get in the way of my blog visits.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. You’re a lucky man with all your trips this past year. When I post images of birds and animals I am often not sure whether they are familiar species in other countries or not.

Comments are closed.