Happy Faces

_DS82374_wpWho could resist two happy smiling faces like these? These girls were standing on the steps of Hamleys, the oldest toy shop in the world and certainly one of the best known. The build-up to Christmas is in full swing, and these employees of the store were there to drum up custom by singing well-known popular songs. I’m sure Hamleys doesn’t need any gimmicks to attract customers, and the crush on the pavement outside the store as people almost fought their way in or out was testimony to the store’s enduring appeal.

However, they smiled delightfully. A lovely contrast to the average shopper on Regent Street – glum-faced and serious. They certainly made me smile.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy Faces

  1. poppytump says:

    Hamleys is always full of smiling faces – usually those of children 😉 and crowds .
    I think they’ll do well if they can keep smiling as the inevitable Christmas consumer shopping frenzy takes hold over the next few weeks .
    Nice moment captured Andy !

  2. Lignum Draco says:

    Lovely shot. Very vibrant.

  3. shoreacres says:

    Now it’s my turn. I’ve never heard of Hamleys! It certainly looks like it would provide a fun shopping experience, especially with such smiles in the aisles. It’s nice that you found a blond and a brunette: one, pure cheer, and the other more pensive. It does add just a little extra to the photo.

  4. oneowner says:

    You managed to capture some priceless expressions, Andy. Good timing.

  5. There is nothing better than a smile from deep down – I love the photo for that. It made ME smile wwithout knowing Hamleys

  6. Len says:

    Great moment captured Andy. Can’t believe Christmas is around the corner.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. Suddenly the commercial channels on the TV are loaded with Christmas themed adverts. It was wall to wall last night. I groaned – six weeks of this to come! I think I will stick to the good old BBC – no commercial breaks!

Comments are closed.