Colour on the Water

The colours of Autumn aren’t just to be found above ground and on the ground. Water Lily leaves die too. And as they die they too put on a display of colour before they literally rot into the water.

A recent short walk in Stowe Gardens around the Octagonal lake provided today’s image.

_DS81861

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Colour on the Water

  1. Chillbrook says:

    It’s a bittersweet time. I just wish the gloom would lift so we can enjoy the full benefit of the colour in the leaves before it’s too late. I took some images in woodland in the pouring rain last week. I’ve not looked at those yet. This is a lovely image Andy.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. We went hunting for colour last friday, and were rewarded with zero sun. Today I had tasks to complete at home and grass to be mowed on a dry day – and the sun shone! Sometimes you just can’t win. Tomorrow it should be dry and sunny so I’m off out in search of colour. We should be grateful we don’t live in Scotland at the moment – raining gallons up there.

      Like

  2. mark says:

    The leaves in the water provide a somewhat different palette from their dry state. SOme colors seem muted, others more vibrant. Very nice.

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    I can’t remember seeing water lilies in their natural state, except across the bay at a wildlife refuge. I’ve never seen them turn color. These are so beautiful, I think I might try a trip up the coast after we finally get a cold snap, just to see if ours provide color, too. Our water hyacinth just rot away.

    I’m especially fond of the juxtaposition of the floating leaves and the underwater world in your photo. They’re nicely balanced; both draw the eye, rather than just the colorful leaves.

    Like

  4. Len says:

    Beautiful shot Andy. Never really thought about water lilies but you are right.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len, I don’t think I have thought of photographing them before at this time of year. The weather was just right on this day and so I just simply fired off a shot – I was quite pleased how it turned out.

      Like

  5. oneowner says:

    Great image, Andy. Reminds me of a place I haven’t visited in a long time. I might go there today!

    Like

  6. poppytump says:

    I hadn’t realised this about water lilies Andy ! Don’t they look lovely . I’m hoping for a little lift of sunshine this week I feel the call of the Hills and know various areas I’d like to capture showing the glorious colours .

    Like

  7. The water-lily leaves are really nice, but I also like the other plant life in the photograph. As the other Linda says, it’s a nice balance.

    Like

  8. smackedpentax says:

    You never think of those…nicely shot Andy

    Like

  9. Lisa Gordon says:

    Such a beautiful composition, and these colors are so beautiful.

    Like

  10. Meanderer says:

    How pretty. Lovely image.

    Like

  11. Lovely photo, of the “simple” wonders of nature.

    Like

Comments are closed.