Shapes and Colours

Sometimes processed images sit on my desktop for some time while I think about them and wait for my conflicting feelings about them to reach a consensus. Today’s image is a case in point. It was taken a year ago with a longish lens. I can’t remember exactly how I processed it, but the aim was to maximize the impact of the almost abstract array of colourful leaf-like shapes that comprise the image.

_DS77694Almost every leaf is misshapen, or at an odd angle and many of them seem suspended in space. I still find it a difficult image to describe. The distorted shapes remind me a little of how some painters were very ‘loose’ in their painting of detail.  What I do know is that I simply like it. Do you?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Shapes and Colours

  1. bananabatman says:

    I do like it, and it is just as appropriate this autumn as it would have been a year ago. The longish lens has worked well.

  2. oneowner says:

    I like it, too. The shape of the leaves is quite unusual but the color is typical fall foliage color.
    My MO is to try to process files shortly after they’re shot while they are fresh in my mind. But I reserve the right to reprocess any time later to try to improve on them.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. Looking back through the archive – something I will do more of I suspect as winter arrives – there are always images that can benefit from a re-process. I’ve also got a large number of images from the current year that I have so far had no time to tackle.

  3. seekraz says:

    Yes, I do, Andy…very much…the yellow and blue are a nice combination…and I enjoy the blueberry-like refractions of the light, as well. Nice capture.

  4. Len says:

    I do like it and I also really love the light behind the leaves that are bubble like.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Len. Bubble like is a good way of describing that background. What surprised me is that, to my eye at least, that rather strong background doesn’t feel as if it dominates or detracts from the main image.

  5. Another positive vote here! I like the ‘odd’ angles of the leaves, it almost gives the impression of them falling.

  6. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a lovely photograph this is.
    The light is beautiful.

  7. I like it 🙂 the bokeh in the background is nice but I’m wondering if it’s a little distracting. ..

  8. Chillbrook says:

    I like it! I like it very much in fact Andy. It’s one of those images you just want to keep looking at.

  9. shoreacres says:

    It’s beautiful. I like many photographs, but my acid test always is, “Would I want to live with this on the wall?” A resounding yes, here. I love the clarity of the leaves against the blurred background, not to mention the way they represent various stages of decay. It’s almost a cliché to show autumn leaves against a blue sky. Those photos can be beautiful, too, but this is interesting in a different way.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Linda. A year since it was shot, I still love this image. It is a little bit quirky, the leaves a little unusual and misshapen, and it is ‘different’. Just like Spring, it’s difficult to find something new or different to say about Autumn without descending into the ‘popular’ images that have been shot so many times before.

  10. Meanderer says:

    I very much like the colours, shapes and angles of the leaves.

  11. I just love these natural abstract type pieces, Andy, and I find myself mesmerized with this particular piece that seems to showcase autumn leaves hanging in space. Lovely colors and shapes indeed, my friend, very pleasing for the eye!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Toad. Autumn is such a beautiful time of the year and it’s difficult to find something that little bit different- but this seemed to fit the bill.

Comments are closed.