And then the rain came

After one of the driest Septembers on record, October has barely started before the rain has returned announcing the onset of more changeable weather more in keeping, perhaps, with the time of year. Welcomed by gardeners and farmers, but not necessarily by the rest of us.

How to capture evidence of rain? Streaks of rain falling, puddles, filled rivers, rain dancing on the tarmac? Or just single drops of rain standing improbably tall on a newly painted step, clinging by their menisci, as the ground dried. Science can be indeed be beautiful.

_DS81977

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to And then the rain came

  1. Chillbrook says:

    It certainly can Andy!

  2. ShimonZ says:

    Yes, this is beautiful.

  3. It looks like we might all get the chance to join in with the ‘rain’ theme, if the weather this morning is anything to go by!

    • LensScaper says:

      You are right, Paul. Looks like the entire country is getting a good soaking (me included). It’s all a bit of a shock after last month. I’m feeling the need to enter Hibernation Mode but I’m sure that effect will pass once I start to adjust. I’m consoling myself by reaching for a Ski Holiday brochure.

  4. I love the detail in this image. Beauty is around us if we just take the time to look carefully.

  5. oneowner says:

    Very well said. And seen, too.

  6. Lisa Gordon says:

    This is wonderful, and I’m glad the rain came for you.
    We need it very badly here, and I actually never remember that happening before. We usually have lots of rain. Very strange weather, indeed.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Lisa. The traditional weather patterns seem to be a thing of the past. The jet stream is acting like a wild unruly teenager, throwing its weight around left, right and centre with serious consequences.

  7. shoreacres says:

    What fun! I read ” menisci,” and my thoughts went directly to “meniscus.” Then I thought, “What? Raindrops have joint problems?” Off to the dictionary I went, and found this: “the convex or concave upper surface of a column of liquid, the curvature of which is caused by surface tension.”

    You have a lovely photo, and I have a new word for something I often see. If wood is sanded, it dries quickly after a rain. But on any nearby piece with fresh varnish, the water beads up, just like this. I wondered if anyone had tried to describe the process, perhaps with “meniscisize.” Of course, when I did a search, all I got were pages of articles with titles like “Arthrography of the lateral meniscus”, and lots of mentions of “menisci size”!

    • LensScaper says:

      Ha! I’m sure you won’t have been the only person slightly flummoxed by the word ‘menisci’ initially. I’ve spent the summer painting all the house’s window frames and window cills and I have been very struck by the way the rain drops are standing so proud everywhere even on the vertical surfaces. It won’t be long before the paint dulls and gets a little dirty and then sadly the water will flatten off. However, I can always stare at a glass of wine and watch the meniscus climb the side of the glass! Thanks so much for commenting, Linda

  8. Nice capture, I’m always thrilled by the beauty of little details like this in nature 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Lisa. There is always remarkable beauty in the detail, and the bonus is that often you don’t have to go too far to find it. It can be literally rightly on the doorstep.

Comments are closed.