Differing Styles

It’s easy to forget that the world looks different walking the opposite way. If I hadn’t looked behind me, I would have missed this image completely.

_DS81157_cleanThis was another image captured on a walk from Tate Modern to Tower Bridge. The light was just right and I liked the contrast between this curved glass frontage and the sharply contrasting prow of yellow brick that disrupted the otherwise perfect symmetry.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Differing Styles

  1. oneowner says:

    Not too long ago, I heard of a project where photographers would shoot a scene and then take a second shot after they turned around 180 degrees. I thought it an interesting project for landscape shooters. This photo made me think of that.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for that Ken. That sounds like a very interesting idea as you say. It’s so easy to keep one’s focus on the way ahead whether it is in a city or out walking. And it’s not just the different ‘view’ it’s the different light also. With Autumn just around the corner that becomes so important with the way the foliage lights up when the light is behind the leaves.

  2. athyfoto says:

    That is what’s called working the scene, take your shot you initially wanted, then look up, look down, look behind you. Move a few feet one way or another and see what changes. Being human we easily forget to do that. In this case you came up trumps by just looking back.

    A couple of years ago I was in Strid Wood in Wharedale where the river Wharfe is choked down through a small channel through rocks. I spent ages shooting the water as it crashed through. I was out and about looking for smaller details in the landscape. I wasn’t thrilled with what I was getting and as I turned and walked away from the river I looked down and saw some exposed tree roots full of leaves. I think it was my favourite shot of the day see it here. http://athyfoto.com/2012/10/22/autumnal/

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for that, Frank. Very true. Always get that first shot, and then do the thinking. I really like the image you referred too – those roots reminded me of a bird’s claws, and the leaves are a superb autumnal colour.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Smashing picture Andy. I got into the habit of taking the picture I wanted to take and then looking behind me quite early on. It was a piece of advice I read somewhere and it stuck for some reason. On more than a few occasions the behind picture has been the better one. The other one was not packing the camera away until you’ve left the scene. Walking back to the car again has given me the better picture than the one I set out from the car to take. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. Looking back or behind is something I continually do in the city these days because there is always something different to see looking the other way.

  4. Lisa Gordon says:

    Glad you looked behind!
    This is a great image. I love the lines.
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

  5. Love the symmetry and repeating patterns of this shot, Andy. I’ve always had this thing for glass windows for some reason. 🙂

    Looking back paid dividends, glad you took advantage of the opportunity.

  6. shoreacres says:

    With apologies to the good Mr. Blake:

    Building, building, shining bright
    in the urban deeps’ delights,
    Only turning foot or eye
    could catch your broken symmetry.

  7. shoreacres says:

    Speaking of architecture, I just bumped into this photographic essay and thought you would enjoy it, if you haven’t already seen it.

    • LensScaper says:

      That’s a fascinating article, thanks Linda. It has also reminded me about the exhibition at the Barbican in London, which I meant to make a note of but forgot! So double thanks really. I will get along to see it in the next week or two.

Comments are closed.