Releasing the Tension

Hurrying by foot from St Pancras to Euston Station two weeks ago I saw this and shot instinctively.

IMG_6809_2This was taken on the road that separates St Pancras from the British Library. These two men – waiters I assume – were taking a break, ‘chilling out’ with their phones. The contrast between them and the man in the poster seemingly at screaming pitch struck me as powerful.

Curious to know more, while writing this, I thought I would see what’s on at the British Library. It turns out that this poster is advertising ‘Terror and wonder: The Gothic Imagination‘ and the image itself is titled ‘Terror and Wonder’ by Dave McKean. click the link to see the full poster (which has been flipped horizontally for display as seen in my image) and learn more about this exhibition.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Releasing the Tension

  1. oneowner says:

    Great spontaneous shot, Andy. It pays to be always ready.

  2. shoreacres says:

    I’m not particularly sanguine about the state of the world just now, particularly having worked in public health in Liberia and having experienced some of the difficulties facing teams attempting to slow the Ebola outbreak. Looking at your image, it seems a perfect portrayal of uncontrollable forces juxtaposed against the calm, “we’ve got it all under control” demeanor of the bureaucrats. They’d better hope…

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. Is anything under control anywhere these days? It feels sometimes that we are standing atop a rickety fence and a fall to either side spells disaster. I am often reminded of the phrase: ‘Stop the world I want to get off’. This image was just a fleeting glance, I just happened to walk this side of the street, I just caught sight of this in passing, and grabbed the shot. The visual contradiction was compelling.

  3. suej says:

    Certainly a compelling visual contradiction, and a metaphor for our time?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Sue – yes, I think you are right. The pace of life is such that anxiety seems an almost inevitable companion. We all reach that ‘screaming pitch’ from time to time. That poster literally ‘screamed’. I think the two men were completely oblivious of it and may never have glanced at it.

Comments are closed.