Out after Dark

A resort takes on a new appearance after dark. The windows light up, things you never saw in daylight become visible.

So, one evening after dinner in Saas Fee recently I wound up the ISO (in one instance as high as 5000) and set off for a tour of the village – and in the gallery below are the images that I found. Five shop window shots, including a magnificent stag. Two night clubs including one with the name ‘Poison’ that has the bizarre headline ‘in God we trust’: I have to admit I really don’t understand the connection there. Finally  – the last image – I looked up at a house and saw three horses arrayed along the guard rail of a balcony with a puppet suspended at the end: the imaginary rider of the horses perhaps. The image shown constitutes just a small portion of the frame shot with the lens extended right out to 375mm but I thought it made quite a surreal image.

Click on the first image to enter the gallery and navigate through

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in After Dark and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Out after Dark

  1. lucywilliamspoetry says:

    The In God we trust maybe ironic as the cross is black saying poison in it maybe meaning religion is poison. Just a guess.

  2. oneowner says:

    In God We Trust is on US dollars. It may refer to money but I’m just guessing.

  3. shoreacres says:

    Poison also is an American rock band. They’ve been around for some time. I suspect you found a fan!

    The three horses is the most interesting to me. Notice how the horses change from left to right — from a whole, natural profile to a ragged and tattered stylized one that matches the rider. Looks like it was a long day on the trail!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. Yes, I’d noticed how the Horses changed from left to right, and I wasn’t entirely sure why. I wondered whether there was some fabric draped over the last one to confuse the silhouette. I was tempted to omit the puppet, but I decided that it really completed the picture.

  4. Len says:

    These are really cool shots Andy.

Comments are closed.