The Clouds Parted

In my previous post I talked about a walk up to Trift in cloud on our last day in Zermatt. I waited patiently at Trift (a 1hr 20mins walk up from Zermatt and approx 2250ft of ascent) for the clouds and mist to clear. The cloud cleared a little to allow views higher up above Trift towards the Rothorn Hut and the mountains in that direction. But the clouds stubbornly hid the mountains on the far side of the Matterhorn valley expect for the briefest of moments when a small ‘eye’ opened in the cloud and mist perfectly framing the higher slopes of Monte Rosa. I grabbed my chances, and the eye closed. It was one of those magical moments.

_DS70766When you see mountains like this, detached from their surroundings, they always appear far higher in the sky than you believed them to be.  As I descended, Monte Rosa remained in the clouds but I did get wonderful views lower down of the Mischabel mountains as you will have seen in my previous post. If you missed that, click here, to see that image.

The image in today’s post will enlarge if you click on it. Try it – this is a view really to be savoured and viewed large!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in MountainScape, Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Clouds Parted

  1. oneowner says:

    Wonderful shot, Andy. Perfect timing.

  2. shoreacres says:

    There just isn’t anything to say, except that the sight is magnificent.

  3. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a wonderful view this is!

Comments are closed.