The View from the Trift Gorge

Our last day in Zermatt. It was a misty morning as I walked up the Trift Gorge mainly in cloud but on the way down I was rewarded with superb views of the Dom and Taschhorn – the two main peaks of the Mischabel range that form the backdrop to the Saas valley where we were last week.

_DS70803_edited-1

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The View from the Trift Gorge

  1. oneowner says:

    Beautiful scene, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. These mountains are part of the high ridge that separates the Zermatt valley from the Saas valley where we spent our first week. These mountains are magnificent from either side.

  2. John Linn says:

    Wonderful image… excellent. Wish I was there!

  3. shoreacres says:

    What a trip. The photos have been truly beautiful.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Linda – I’m glad you have enjoyed them. I’m in the process of getting them transferred to the main desktop and can then have a better look and work out what to post next.

  4. Len says:

    That is so majestic Andy. Glad you finally got great weather at least on the last day. Travel well my friend.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. Home safely, and just sorting myself and the images out. For a brief hour or two we had probably the best early afternoon weather of the entire second week.

  5. Pete Buckley says:

    Great shot of the Mischabel Peaks – is that the gorge on the way to Trift Hut and the Mettelhorn?

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes it is Pete. I was in cloud the entire walk up to the Trift Hut where I had a one minute glimpse of Monte Rosa through a gap in the cloud base and some views up to the Rothorn Hut and the environs. I had promised I would be down by lunch for a Pizza with my wife (last day) and so couldn’t hang around any longer. Made it down from Trift in 45mins! On the way I got this great view just above the Edelweiss hut/cafe. The Matterhorn actually showed its full self too and we had a sunny afternoon (actually about 90mins worth!). It was raining again late pm and Wednesday was torrential rain and, from what I read, the whole of central Europe had a stormy day. A bumpy ride in the plane coming home.

Comments are closed.