Abstract Glacier Art

Today has been a disappointing day weather-wise. Low-lying cloud, brief showers and poor views. This continues a long-term story of poor summer weather in the Alps this year.

So, in selecting an image for today, I’ve gone back a few days to another shot taken from Rotenboden. Glaciers are always interesting when viewed from above. You see the crevasses. And you see the water holes and little lakes created by the surface water that flows down a glacier in summer – gouging troughs, creating channels.

_DS70307_edited-1What do you see in this image? Maybe a couple of eyes and a gaping mouth? We’re looking down around 1,000ft onto the Gorner Glacier, whose snout I got close to yesterday. Click here to go that Post.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Abstract Glacier Art

  1. oneowner says:

    The landscape looks abstract when viewed from a high vantage point. And there’s just enough color to keep it interesting.

  2. vastlycurious.com says:

    Exactly! A great capture and howling face! Great shot !

  3. Robyn G says:

    Fantastic, I saw the face straight away! 🙂

  4. Len says:

    Nicely seen Andy. I always find that glaciers are hard to capture the true beauty of them. You have done a nice job on this one.

  5. Meanderer says:

    What fun! A somewhat cheeky character!

Comments are closed.