Roaring Water

Today I walked up the Gorner Gorge as far as I could travel to the snout of the Gorner Glacier.

The only sound to be heard was the roar of water. Every time I take a look at the water pouring off a glacier I wonder how there is any ice left at all. The volume of water is phenomenal.

_DS70511_edited-1This image was taken from the limit of my journey today. There was no possibility of further progress. With each puff of breeze, the air was filled with a fine mist – you may be able to see it hanging in the air above the water in the image (click on the image for a higher quality enlargement).

I will return to this walk in a future post. There’s a lot more to this walk than just this single image.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roaring Water

  1. shoreacres says:

    I should say there’s no possibility of additional progress. It’s a great photo, especially the way you’ve captured the mist. I like the little plash of droplets from the tumbling water at the center bottom, too.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks you Linda. It’s a pity sound can’t be incorporated into an image. The roar was so loud, it would have been impossible to talk to anyone. I was on my own and reaching this spot was difficult – I was a long way beyond the path’s end. So I was very careful – a slip here and a broken leg and they might not have found me for some time!

  2. Len says:

    Nicely captured Andy. It is a shame that the glaciers around the world will be significantly diminished in the not too distant future due to global warming. I am heading to Glacier national Park on Wednesday and I am afraid to see how they have been affected since my last visit in 2006.

Comments are closed.