A Little Mystery

Go anywhere in the mountains and look at the postcards for sale. In most instances you will see images on perfect days – blue sky days. These are what I call chocolate box images. You will find them in calendars too. They sell well – they show the perfect day. And of course we love perfect days.

IMG_6409_edited-1But…I believe that a little bit of mystery can add to the beauty of mountains. Shroud them in a little bit of cloud and they become a little different. They becomes mysterious, they become a little more dramatic and enticing. We want to know more.

Yesterday everything was in cloud – today slowly, bit by bit the cloud has cleared. It was wonderful to watch it happen.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Little Mystery

  1. shoreacres says:

    What you say reminds me of my days with the Golden Gate Bridge as a companion. So many postcards and calendar shots of the bridge are taken on those “blue sky days”, but there was nothing I loved more than watching the fog roll in: above, below, around.

    With both the bridge and your mountains, I think the contrast between passivity and movement is part of the appeal. Where you can see clouds topping the mountain ridges and moving down the other side, the appeal’s only heightened.

  2. poppytump says:

    Time spent cloud watching is never wasted .. particularly when your planned activity might be enhanced or scuppered 🙂
    Looking at your photo …a piece of Dark Toblerone would be just the thing right now 🙂
    Hope you enjoyed your day Andy !

  3. Len says:

    We call them bluebird skies and they seem to be on every calendar. I, like you Andy, love the clouds.

Comments are closed.