Golden Field – in Black and White

For those of you who are subscribers or regular readers, the title will make some sense. For the rest of you, you might like to view the previous post that was called ‘Golden Field’ (click on the link).

My good friend and fellow blogger Adrian Lewis – check out his excellent blog here – commented on Golden Field saying ‘any thoughts about a mono version’. I confess I hadn’t thought of converting it to B&W – a bit slow on the uptake there. Anyway, when someone makes a suggestion, I try it out. And so here is the Mono Version. Thanks, Adrian for the suggestion.

_DS79622_BWI used the Green Filter preset in Image/Adjustments/Black and White to lighten the golden colour of the field and then used Levels, Curves and finally Posterize to bring out some contrast in this shot. It was contrast that this needed in B&W to accentuate the tractor’s furrows and the vestigial fence line.

Do you like it? Do you prefer it to the colour version? Do make a comment.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Landscapes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Golden Field – in Black and White

  1. shoreacres says:

    It’s interesting to see both versions. I tried to look at this one as though I hadn’t seen the colored, which was hard, but in the end, I wasn’t nearly so fond of this in B&W. I do think that, had the horizontal lines in the field at the top of the photo been stronger, it would work better. Or, I might crop it so that the trees are at the far left of the image, to balance it differently.

    But all that’s just me and my preferences. One vote here for the colored version, which is stunning, in my opinion.

    • LensScaper says:

      While I like B&W and always have done, I prefer the colour one myself too. I think it is the colour that makes the image – it is about harvest, a warm time of the season, and for me the lack of colour feels cold. So that’s two votes for colour! Thanks Linda.

  2. Len says:

    That was a great idea that Adrian had Andy. Harkens back to your post about seeing in B&W.

    • LensScaper says:

      Always good to get suggestions. As I said to Linda earlier I prefer the colour because it’s more in keeping with the season, and for me the B&W feels too cold for the content. But that’s just my opinion

  3. angelinahue says:

    I like the starkness that comes through with the monochrome version. I’d probably push the contrast a little more.

    It’s always an interesting exercise to see how an colour photograph turns out in black and white. As well as to take photos with the intention of processing it in monochrome (or with a black and white film, if shooting analog), as this affects how you look at the scene in front of your eyes.

    Some instances lend themselves better to colour and others to black and white. And once in while, both – like in these pictures here: http://angelinahue.com/2014/06/27/when-monochrome-says-it-best-brussels-hong-kong/ 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment Angelina and welcome to my blog. You make some interesting comments and I entirely agree with what you write. The first twenty years or so of my interest in photography was during the film era – I was a black and white print maker almost exclusively. I’ve recently written three articles on B&W conversions on my other blog – iSighting. You might be interested in seeing those. Go to http://isighting.wordpress.com. I liked your pictures – a typical example where an image can work equally well in colour or B&W but with different moods.

  4. oneowner says:

    I like both versions but prefer the color if pressed. My inclination would have been to push t contrast a grade or two higher to eliminate the gray tones altogether. Of course, this would end up completely different from the others in the series but it might be an interesting effect.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for those ideas, Ken. I was in two minds as to whether to completely posterize or not. As it is I took down to a ‘4’ on the scale in Photoshop.

  5. This just works. I love the lines in this and the trees just enhance the pattern. Well done Andy.

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    I agree with angelinahue and oneowner in that I would raise contrast substantially, maybe ending up with something almost black and white, and in particular trying to enhance the prominence of those lines in the background. Cloning out the small dark spots in the lower third of the shot would remove a distraction. Then there is the possibility of a different crop, but that’s difficult to be sure of without seeing the whole, uncropped image. As a guess based on what’s visible, what about cropping off the right hand third? Hope these points are useful, Andy but, again, they’re only my preferences. Adrian

    • LensScaper says:

      It’s interesting to hear your comments, Adrian – thanks for them. I know what you mean about those spotty areas in the lower left quadrant. I did experiment with a harsher contrast but personally I wasn’t entirely happy with that (and I usually like strong contrast). I think these thoughts just go to show what a great medium B&W is, how flexible it is, and how we can see different ways of drawing out different images – all of which may be relevant – from the same original frame.

      • Adrian Lewis says:

        Yes, you’re right about B&W, Andy – photography generally is very subjective, but B&W can certainly be more so! It was a pleasure to see the image. Adrian

Comments are closed.