The Orangery

Today’s image comes from Wrest Park – an imposing French-influenced mansion that sits within ninety acres of parkland and formal gardens.

_DS76004We have visited this place a number of times. It first featured on this blog in ‘Searching for a Landscape’. Dotted across the estate are a number of other buildings – The Orangery is one of them. This is a building that is transformed by sunlight. Light streams through an attractive glass roof throwing diagonal stripes of light and shadow on the walls. A place impossible to visit without an image in mind.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Orangery

  1. vastlycurious.com says:

    It’s beautiful!

  2. poppytump says:

    I’d not heard of Wrest Park but your link to a previous post shows plenty of photo opportunities Andy .
    Although comments are now closed on that one – reading your words about filing, deleting etc … I felt your pain .. in fact quite strongly as that is what I’m attempting this week … it goes v e r y slowly 😉
    The light is certainly lovely in this Orangery … it looks very spacious . Is it used at all I wonder …

    • LensScaper says:

      Wrest Park has become one of our favourite places to visit around here. Nice place to eat and so much woodland and formal garden to explore – littered with statues too. The house is a classical mansion in the French-style but you don’t get to see a great deal of it. If you are ever up this way, and have the time, it’s well worth a visit. Thanks for commenting, Poppy

  3. oneowner says:

    You managed to balance the light from the interior of the room with the view from the windows very well. That can be a tricky combination sometimes. Excellent!

    • I think what you said, Ken, explains at least part of why I found myself looking at this photograph for a relatively long time. The other appeal for me was all those wonderful lines. Nice work, Andy!

      • LensScaper says:

        As I said to Ken – one single exposure. I’ve never done a single HDR image. The lines are wonderful aren’t they? I would be happy to visit this building every week. It was where Oranges were grown originally – hence the name. Thanks Linda.

    • LensScaper says:

      Just the one exposure, no bracketing or HDR wizardry. Maybe I struck lucky. Certainly the image would not have looked up to much with blown highlights through the doors and windows. This is a special place, Ken. Many thanks for your comment, Ken

  4. Lisa Gordon says:

    The light and shadows in this are really wonderful!

  5. shoreacres says:

    I’d never heard of an orangery. When I checked to see if any existed in the US, I found the only remains (and one extant) are in Massachusetts, Maryland, and Virginia. Since I’ve never been in any of those states, and know very little of Colonial culture there, it makes sense that I would have missed out on their orangeries.

    The photo is marvelous, and so is the place. I do like rooms with a lot of light. I’d enjoy that space very much.

    • LensScaper says:

      The Orangery was added in the 1830s by Earl de Grey and this is where he cultivated some of the largest Orange trees in the UK. So – the name really does actually mean something. I love this building, always a delight to photograph, so light and airy. Thanks for commenting, Linda

  6. Superb photo Andy…I love the lighting and the feeling of space this image conveys.

  7. Len says:

    The interplay of light and shadows is superb Andy. The composition makes it complete.

  8. Chillbrook says:

    This is just sumptuous. What a fabulous room. Smashing photograph Andy! 🙂

  9. Phillip says:

    Beautiful shot Andy. Great shadows and light!

Comments are closed.