Fort

There are surprises round every corner in London. Sometimes it feels as if buildings appear overnight – clearly they don’t – but memory plays tricks, or I walk around with my eyes down. Which I rarely do, incidentally.

When did this building appear? I walk the streets around Charing Cross several times a year although I may not have walked down Craven Street before. I walked down Craven Street last week to see what was down there, wasn’t too impressed, and turned round to walk back up to the front entrance of Charing Cross Station, and there it was.

_DS79455This extraordinary Fort-like edifice towering into the sky. It must sit virtually on top of the station. Stupidly, I was so keen to get to the next location that I forgot to ascertain what it is and who or what operates out of it. I will return.

I just stood there and stared and then grabbed the camera and took the first of many images as I walked back up the street searching for the best viewpoint, with the least obstructed view.

This was taken on the same visit that yielded the images you may have seen in the last three Posts that appear as the top entries in the Recent Posts section of the Rt sidebar. In fact all the images in this and the previous three posts were taken in a span of fifteen minutes. It was a very productive afternoon that yielded a total of 180 images of which this fifteen minutes was just a small part.

Meanwhile over on iSighting today – my other blog – you will find a  new post about the best way to convert colour images to B&W. Look at the top the Rt sidebar of this blog and you will find the first few lines of recent Posts entries over on iSighting. Click on the top entry.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fort

  1. Len says:

    I really miss London. I first went there on business trips and wasn’t shooting then. The last time was in 2007 so I am more than overdue. Nice find Andy.

  2. oneowner says:

    You are so lucky that London has such wonderful and diverse architecture everywhere you go. There must be an unlimited number of photo ops. I like the shot and the building.

  3. poppytump says:

    Love the way you’ve composed this Andy … my eyes travelled from the Victorian chimney pots straight up through the elongated patterns and then over to those cylindrical ‘chimneys’
    Wow .. it reminds me of some sort of gaming scene – a computer generated cityscape 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      That’s a good thought – how about Gotham City? This is certainly an unusual building. Full marks to the planners and the architect for their vision. Many thanks, Poppy.

  4. shoreacres says:

    I like the way the building materials are laid vertically, emphasizing the lines. If they were horizontal, I think the building would look squatty. It reminds me of old mills, or other early industrial buildings, with their chimneys. What a great find.

    • LensScaper says:

      You are absolutely right, Linda. These lines would not work if they were horizontal, nor would water drain so easily off the roof. Industrial is a good word for the style. Thanks for commenting.

  5. seekraz says:

    That’s a very interesting looking building, Andy…will look forward to learning what it is….

  6. Chillbrook says:

    I wonder who occupies the office at the top on the right.. Given your comment to Poppy Andy, perhaps Bruce Wayne? It’s certainly a striking building. Very nice capture!

  7. Phillip says:

    You are right, it does look like a fortress. Nice find.

Comments are closed.