Fleeting Figures

This is the third in a series of Posts displaying images from the Hungerford Bridge crossing over the Thames from Charing Cross to South Bank.

There is an alternative route onto this bridge from the one described in my previous two posts. Click here and here to view them. The alternative may be preferable late at night for those on their own who are a little intimidated by closed-in passageways. And it will suit those who may already be walking along the Embankment. The bridge can be joined by a few steps up beside the Thames next to Embankment Station. Or from Charing Cross walk down Villiers Street on the NE side of the station to the Embankment.

Half way down that street, just where the shops on the left side end, glance up to your right and watch the people on the walkway from the Station to the bridge. You will see their fleeting distorted reflections pass by.

_DS79461I’ve stood here too once before and showed an image in Passing Through. My view appeared different this time – the light is not the same in summer as it is in winter and my viewpoint was also slightly different. The result is that my images, this time, are also different. And to my mind they haven’t quite hit the sweet spot that I felt I achieved earlier in the year. _DS79470_crop

_DS79465

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in London and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fleeting Figures

  1. Len says:

    The distortion of the images is quite appealing Andy. I think I will crown you as King of the Silhouettes. Don’t thank me, you have earned it.

  2. oneowner says:

    I like the combination of distorted vs undistorted in these shots, Andy. It throws off the viewer and gives hih (her) something more to think about.

  3. A great set of shots.

Comments are closed.