At the end of the passageway_2

This follows on from my previous post. I was on my way from Charing Cross to Southbank via Hungerford Bridge. About a minute’s walk after taking the images in Passing By, you reach a long narrow closed-in passageway. A bit claustrophobic and potentially not a place you might want to be on your own late at night. But during the day there are always people coming and going, too many of them really, you have to be a little bit patient to catch just the one or two people in transit.

This is another spot I have photographed before – see At the end of the Passageway posted earlier this year. Back here again, I just had to stop and take a few more pictures. I waited at least five minutes as people came and went. Shooting down the passageway with a Tele Lens on a dSLR, I did not feel comfortable shooting people coming towards me. So, I had to wait until there was a pause in the ‘traffic’, and wait for someone to pass me walking away from me and catch them just as they approached the end of the passageway where daylight spilled onto the end wall.

_DS79482_1Finally I got a decent shot. Pity it was two men and not one, or a man and a woman. But I had used up all the time I could spare and there will always be another opportunity.

The first shot is a  contrasty processed image converted, of course, to B&W and with a bit of posterization added. I then thought: I wonder what this would look like solarized? I clicked the button, adjusted the levels and up popped this. Cutouts! Perfect Cutouts.

_DS79482_solSolarization is such a fascinating option to throw at a B&W image (and I know I’ve said that before, but it still keeps surprising me). You never quite know how it is going to turn out. In this case, the only part of the image that has really changed in a significant way is that small area at the end of the passage where the original tones have been partially reversed. And then there is that wonderful bonus: the appearance of the Mackie Line – so typical of Solarization – that delineates what was, in the original, the demarcation between shadow and highlight.

Tomorrow, another image from the Hungerford Bridge walk.

And in case you haven’t checked out the previous post, the reason I was crossing over to Southbank was to see a superb photographic exhibition by Charlie Waite, one of the UK’s best known and highly respected landscape photographers. His exhibition is on display at the National Theatre until 16 August. Don’t miss it. Click here for details.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in London, The Human touch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to At the end of the passageway_2

  1. Nelson says:

    The solarization effect is indeed interesting, I have never used it on one of my photo but I will definitly give it a try

    • LensScaper says:

      Solarization is so easy in the digital era. Do try it. A nice contrasty image with good line would be an ideal one to experiment on. Thanks for commenting, Nelson.

  2. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a neat result this is.
    I love this image too!

  3. oneowner says:

    This works very well with the solarization technique, Andy. And I don’t mind that there are two men in the photo at all.

  4. ShimonZ says:

    I remember hours spent with fanciful solarization, back in the old days… playing with the possibilities, and not knowing quite what would come out of it till the paper went through the chemicals…

  5. Len says:

    Really cool look with the solarization Andy. Love the effect.

  6. Chillbrook says:

    Very interesting images Andy! I met Terry Waite recently and we were discussing my pictures and he mentioned his cousin. I hadn’t made the connection. I’d like to see an exhibition of Charlie’s work Apologies for the shameless name dropping.

    • LensScaper says:

      I would never have made the connection either. Glad you liked these, Adrian. If you go onto Charlie’s website there is an impressive gallery of images shown at the exhibition. I haven’t gone through them all myself, so I’n not sure whether it is the complete exhibition catalogue there or not.

Comments are closed.