Blue Eyes

There have been rumours that our neighbour has a cat. But the cat has remained unseen. Until this week, when it climbed over the wall and sun bathed on our oil tank.

_DS79213Cue Camera. I half expected the animal to make a run for it, but it had no intention of moving and so I was able to get close.  Look at those deep blue eyes.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Animals and Wild Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Blue Eyes

  1. oneowner says:

    That is an unusual color for cats eyes but it helps mske this an interesting shot. Of course, I’m a cat person.

  2. ShimonZ says:

    Gorgeous portrait. And he looks like a thinker…

  3. I am not much of a cat person but that is an amazing looking creature !

  4. shoreacres says:

    Of course the first person I thought of was Frank Sinatra — Old Blue Eyes. If that was my cat, his name would be Frankie. Serendipitously, I heard something on the news an hour ago about Sinatra being one of the most-searched people on Wikipedia, but I haven’t heard a full report yet to know what the details are.

    Great photo. I love that the reflection of the photographer’s there, too.

  5. Pete Buckley says:

    I like the bit about the cat being just a rumour… then there he (or she) is… and not camera shy!

  6. Great shot Andy…love those baby blues…

  7. Len says:

    I am not a cat person (I may be the only one) and I have not seen a blue eyed one. Nice catch Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      I grew up with a cat and two Spaniels – who managed to co-exist. This is a slightly more exotic cat than the standard cat. I think it’s either a Siamese or Burmese cat, both of which can have blue eyes.

  8. You could not have gotten that cat to pose better than what we see in this shot. I don’t know much about cats but I don’t recall seeing eyes with that deep sea color. Very nice photo, Andy.

  9. Chillbrook says:

    Fabulous shot Andy. All our Siamese cats have had blue eyes, the Burmese are the same as you point out. This would be a Burmese I think (either that or an unusually fluffy Siamese). Hugely expensive and they always have the air that they know it too! You seem to have captured that perfectly! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      I’m pretty sure this must be a Burmese, Adrian. This one wasn’t going to run off. He/She had decided this was a nice sunny spot to sit and that was not open for discussion. Made my task a lot easier!

  10. poppytump says:

    Mesmerising Andy ! The cat and the photo 😉

Comments are closed.