At the Third Visit

Today’s image sees me back on top of Ivinghoe Beacon to check-out a field I have viewed and photographed twice before. The first image, click here, was taken in June of last year when the field was a wash of green. The second visit – click here – was in early September by which time the field had been already harvested and ploughed and was at that stage almost monochromatic and presumably scheduled for re-seeding that autumn.

_DS79123We returned again in May this year to find the vestigial trees that populated the fence line still in blossom, adding a subtle white tone to the rather different green tone from the previous year. My next task will be to try and capture this year’s crop when it is golden and ready for harvest.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to At the Third Visit

  1. Impressive comparison! Are you in an airplane??

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Kathryn. This image was with my feet firmly planted on the ground on top of a small hill but with commanding views over a vast flat area. From the hill you look down on this field – a bird’s eye view really.

  2. oneowner says:

    This is a wonderful series, Andy. Continue on.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I hope to get back there in July or early August to catch the gold of a ripened crop. When I was last there I wasn’t quite sure what the crop was: probably wheat or barley.

  3. shoreacres says:

    The photos are extremely pleasing aesthetically, and it’s interesting to know about the hedgerows, but inquiring minds want to know one more thing: what’s being grown in the fields?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Linda. This is either a field of wheat or barley I think. I was too far away to be able to judge, but as the season progresses it will be easier to tell which crop it is exactly. Hopefully I will post again in July or August – Must make sure I get there before they harvest the crop.

  4. John Linn says:

    I like the angle of this shot and interesting lines. It is really green!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks John. All three images in the series are essentially monochromatic. That’s partly down to the way I’ve cropped it, but also seen from the top of a small hill, the angle of view allows one to isolate this field quite easily.

  5. I just love this series and look forward to its continuance.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. There will, I hope, be a fourth to look forward to in the Summer before harvest. And I would really love to catch it under snow, but that might be difficult.

  6. Beautiful shots – there is something almost hypnotic about the lines. Hope you make it back in August 🙂

  7. seekraz says:

    Very nice, Andy…I don’t suppose there will be a shot with a flowing snow-covered landscape and winter-bare trees? 😉

    • LensScaper says:

      There’s always the possibility of that, Scott. It would not be an easy drive to reach our usual parking spot but I think it would be worth the effort to see the view. We had no snow at all here last winter, bizarrely, and it’s far too soon to start thinking about next winter yet – we need a good summer! Thanks for you comment, Scott.

  8. Len says:

    Wonderfully composed Andy. It has a great minimalist feel to it that really accentuates the lines.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Len. It’s that very simple flowing line that attracted me to this image. There will be another one – just got to make sure I time it right.

  9. Phillip says:

    Wonderful view from that spot! It is a beautiful place. I can wait to see the harvest image. I bet the golden field will be beautiful.

  10. Meanderer says:

    I like this series very much. I love the way one can see the gentle folds in the land here – punctuated by those wonderful blossom-covered trees.

    It’s great to find an elevated spot to photograph crop fields – one doesn’t come across them that often. I like to visit Old Sarum Castle where one gets an elevated view – not only of Salisbury Cathedral – but also of vast fields of crops where the hedgerows – sadly – have been removed. There is a farmhouse and outbuildings which sit slapbang in the middle and they look almost like miniature models!

    On another topic – thank you for the mention and follow on Twitter. I opened an account a few weeks ago and am still not sure about using it!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Meanderer. Yes, there is something special about looking down on the world at one’s feet. I never tire of it. A pleasure to follow you on Twitter. I’m afraid recently I’ve been very bad at using it to thank folk for comments made. And apart from Blog related activities I hardly use it. Its an Age thing, I believe!

  11. Nice picture from the 3. visit.

Comments are closed.