Doodling

Are you an inquisitive person? A bit of a maverick, perhaps? Do you hate being told what to do and would rather find out on your own? When you explore software do you sometimes think: I wonder what would happen if I tried ‘that’? If you don’t like the result, you can always press Undo. Nothing disastrous is likely to happen.

When I’m out in the garden and it starts to rain, I retreat inside and disappear into my study. When it’s getting near lunch and it’s a bit too late to start a new DIY task, I disappear into my study. When I’m at a loose end, I disappear into my study. I can very easily find an excuse to disappear into my study. And, as you will have guessed, in my study sits the iMac and usually there’s an image sitting on the screen, looking very inviting.

I’m a maverick. I’m naturally inquisitive. I enjoy looking round corners – physical ones and visual ones. Sometimes, a little bit bored with the same old processing workflow, I doodle electronically. I experiment: I try something daft or weird. It’s me saying to myself: I wonder what would happen if I tried ‘that’? Very often it’s a waste of time – I can be quite good at time-wasting.

But sometimes, an experiment looks promising: I see potential and I pursue an idea. I may take some wrong turns, and end up in creative cul-de-sacs, out of which I have to back. but there are times when I click on an option, stare at the screen and feel like punching the air and shouting ‘Yes!’

IMG_6033_finalHere’s an occasion when I punched the air metaphorically. It took about half an hour to get to this point. What is it, you say? I don’t know – it’s whatever you imagine it to be. Does it matter what it is?

Is it photography? Now that’s a question! These are the original pixels, a few cropped off, nothing added (apart from the border). The pixels have just been shuffled around a bit. It’s not meant to be taken seriously – it’s just a bit of fun.

Any ideas for a title?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Abstractions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Doodling

  1. oneowner says:

    I pick up a ’50s sifi vibe from this but I dare not give it a title. My title would be a number.

    • LensScaper says:

      Maybe it should be #1 in a series? Actually it reminds me of the ‘home’ screen of one of the old TV channels – that pictured a transmitter tower.

  2. athyfoto says:

    That’s just the sort of thing I do too! I often think that some photoshop functions were put in there just for playtime 🙂 And if digital art is good enough for the likes of David Hockney then It’s good enough for me.

  3. What is it or should I say what was it? Whatever it is I like it. I’ve been sitting here staring at it for a while. I’ve just been mesmerized. Maybe that’s what you should call it “mesmerizing”

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi Edith, and thank you. In answer to your query – What was it? It’s actually the glass frontage of a building. An older image of it (I actually used a more recent capture) can be found at the end of this post: https://lensscaper.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/out-for-lunch/
      It’s the prefect symmetry I think that is mesmerizing. Could it be a transmitter? The line from an old song by The Carpenters has been swirling round my mind: ‘calling occupants of inter-planetary craft’. And lines from ‘Nobody Home’ in Pink Floyd’s ‘The Wall’.

  4. Nelson says:

    One title comes to my minds from the 1970’s TV show …….. Time Tunnel

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Nelson. Not sure I ever saw ‘Time Tunnel’ – it probably never crossed the pond to the UK. But I can guess what drives that idea.

      • Nelson says:

        They were travelling through time and they had to enter a tunnel with concentric circle inside, your photo reminded me that, brought back some memories of my chilhood

  5. John Linn says:

    A real art deco look to me.The one panel not having he blue tone breaks the symmetry, which is good.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks John. Whoever stuck that differently coloured panel in the glass frontage of this building (that is what this originally was before I shuffled the pixels) was a genius.

  6. Len says:

    Pretty cool write-up and result Andy. Looks like an old TV test pattern to me.

    • LensScaper says:

      I’m getting a range of suggestions, Len. As I mentioned to another commenter a TV station over here many years ago had a transmitter as a test screen or backdrop and that had radiating lines and concentric circles – if my memory is correct.

  7. Great image. Reading your text about “hitting the air” – maybe the title should be Bullseye!

  8. I agree with Ken, on first impression it reminds me of the old TV test patterns used when a station was off the air. I also think of the satellite dishes used to scan the skies.

    This would be a fun project project for several people to play with and see where it ended up. By the way, experimenting is how we get better and it’s what has led to may innovations. As for a name: Contemplation.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Jimi. There’s a common thread emerging – TV test patterns – or some type of satellite dish or transmitter. You are absolutely right – arriving at some of these final completed ‘doodles’ involves a lot of learning within other areas of Photoshop, and those new skills transfer across to an enhanced ability to work on more normal images.

  9. Hi Andy, it does have a 50’s look to it. TV/ dartboard/ car detail! 🙂
    Cool way to spend your time! I look forward to seeing you back on Twitter! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your two comments, Rachel. Interesting idea for a title! I’m retired, but it’s still a struggle to find the time to keep up with the social media.

  10. Oh yes, the name. “Cynical Cylinder” 😉

  11. A couple of commenters have mentioned television. This image reminds me of the early days of television in the United States, when stations would go off the air overnight. During that off period a station would broadcast a logo so that anyone tuning to the channel could identify the station; your picture reminds me of those early black and white channel logos.

  12. ShimonZ says:

    nice. definitely photography…

Comments are closed.