Odd One Out_2

The Façade of Fitzroy Place – a huge development on the site of the old Middlesex Hospital just north of Oxford Street, London is nearing completion. For a lover of clean lines and geometry it is a joy to the eye. I’ve walked past this many times as development has progressed and watched the bare metal and concrete skeleton rise skywards. And now the building is being clothed. I know I will be photographing this building again and again.

IMG_6116_cropThis is just a small part of the south-facing façade. Almost complete in this section, and my eye was drawn to the one window that, at present, due I think to a protective covering, is different to all the others. This is the second in this series – click here to view the first ‘Odd One Out’. And some of you may recall the superb Art of the local primary school that decorates the hoardings around the site. That art is till there – click here to view.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Odd One Out_2

  1. I do like modern, clean lines but generally only if they fit into the existing architectural landscape. Would love to see another shot.

    • LensScaper says:

      Interesting comment, Kathryn – thank you. Most new significant buildings in London seem to be more concerned with making a ‘statement’ rather than with blending in with any existing architectural style. Actually I don’t think I could identify an existing ‘style’. The appeal of London to me is that it is such a vibrant place to walk around and to photograph. You never know quite what you are going to find round the next corner. If I was to try and identify one common factor in most of the recent major new buildings in London it would have to be the use of Glass and its particular properties: the ability to transmit or reflect light, the distortion inherent in its use, and the way it creates (via its reflective qualities) intriguing inter-relationships with neighbouring buildings. I’ll be posting more image of this building as it nears completion.

      • I love London and between you ask Richard Guest I NEED to make a return visit. I love glass and clean modern lines but in an historical or older area I strongly feel that the architect should try and maintain the existing feel of the surrounding buildings. I have seen in many US cities the latest appeal is to scream I BUILT THIS without a care about existing design. Makes me sad. If you knock everything down and gentrify a neighborhood..okay but trying to blend is harder. Here in Philadelphia they are just flattening older neighborhoods and eliminating any historical value for the sole purpose of vertical living!

        • LensScaper says:

          It’s an interesting debate, Kathryn. In the city of London, the trend seems to be ‘I can outdo that’- be it higher or differently shaped. New buildings in the City now dominate the sky line. In other areas, for example the West End, which is where the image was captured, there is no existing style. If you walk the streets in that area and take a long hard look at what you walk past you will see buildings of many eras and many styles – they rub shoulders with each other, a complete hotch-potch. It annoys me greatly because as a householder who has tried to extend my property my local planning authority is so pedantic about what I can or cannot do and how it needs to fit in with neighbouring property. But when it comes to urban environments, it seems the restraints are off, and anything goes. Money talks perhaps – maybe companies say: ‘this is what we want to build, if you don’t like it, we’ll build it some other place’.

          • Money talks is exactly what happening in life also . Many neighborhoods here are also completely domineering and dictate style and renovation. I do not think I could live in one of the ” gated communities” that have grown here in the states.

  2. oneowner says:

    I like the clean, graphic modern architecture we see today. This is a nice example and it’s easy to see the architect had a nice color sense. Photographs well, too.

  3. Len says:

    Upon first glance, it looked like a musical note in the window. Nicely captured Andy.

Comments are closed.