Solarized Roof

Milton Keynes is home to one of the longest indoor ski slopes in the UK. This image shows part of the Xscape’s roof inside which is the SnoZone. Today’s image started off life as a rather unremarkable picture taken on a dull day but the image you see here is the result of using the Solarize filter – available in Photoshop or Elements at Filter/Stylize/Solarize.

Click on the image to see a high quality enlargement

I’ve posted several images over the last year or two that have been Solarized during processing, and I think it’s time that I explained what Solarization is, and how easy it is to use in the Digital Era.

Over on my other blog – iSighting – fresh off the press this morning, is a Mini Tutorial on Solarization showing the steps taken to reach this image, together with a little background on what Solarization is, and how Solarization was achieved in the Darkroom Days.

Do take a look – click here to go to iSighting. And if you look in the Rt sidebar here on LensScaper you will see a series of snapshots of the last few posts over on iSighting. The Rt sidebar will always keep you up-to-date with what is new on iSighting and a simple click on any of those will take you straight to the full post, but of course you can always sign up to be a subscriber to iSighting over on that blog.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Solarized Roof

  1. oneowner says:

    This particular shot is a natural for the solarizeing technique. It completely changes the mood of the subject and adds interest. This is very well executed.

  2. Fun to be reminded of the old process and how I used to experiment with turning on the light in the darkroom, often not very successfully. It took at lot of trying to get the right result. It’s definitely easier with Photoshop today. The memories aside, I really like this elegant and stylish architectural image. The softness and the inverse tones of the solarization adds a definitive edge to the photo. Very nice, Andy.

  3. I’ve never really utilized the solarize filter in PS but seeing the results of this nice image, I’m inclined to try it out on an image or two.I like how this turned out, Andy. 🙂

  4. janina says:

    Firstly, I like the detail in this image and you have controlled the solarization, so it is unobtrusive. Secondly, Andy, ’tis time for you to study the dictionary and look up ‘snapshot’ and ‘snippet’… ❤

    • janina says:

      Oh, PS: I saw on our TV recently a promo for the late Michael Jackson’s newest CD, called ‘Xscape’!!! Any connection to your place? LOL.

    • LensScaper says:

      When you get to my age, befuddlement is never too far away. What’s the correct word for the first few lines of a post? Precis is incorrect too. Glad you liked the image, Janina – that’s what is important.

Comments are closed.