Down the Garden

Two more Springtime images today from the bottom of our garden.

Which is taken with a Mirror Lens? The first one is fairly obviously taken with one.

DSC_4849_wpIt shows the typical – and in this case rather intrusive – ring-shaped Bokeh that people either love or hate. And the closer the out-of-focus highlights are to the point of focus the more prominent they are. Bokeh from highlights in the distance are softer as seen in the final image in my last post – click here to go to that post

Compare that image with the second one.

DSC_4861A much softer image, although the very shallow depth of field evident suggests it too was taken with a long lens. You may be surprised to know that this was also shot with my Mirror Lens. No real highlights in this one, so no glaring Bokeh.

So, it is possible to shoot with a Mirror Lens and largely avoid the unsightly Bokeh. It’s all down to choice of subject and careful review of the lighting.

If you are interested in reading more about Mirror Lenses then do view the footnote in my first post about Mirror Lenses – click here to visit that post.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Mirror Lens, Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Down the Garden

  1. Len says:

    I really like the output of the mirror lens Andy. They give the images a different look and feel to them.

  2. oneowner says:

    I don’t mind the soft rings in the background, as long as they don’t dominate the subject. Here are two excellent examples.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I think you have summed it very well. The in-focus bluebell in the first shot is very sharp (not always easy with a manual focus lens of this length) and that precise sharpness I think still manages to hold the attention despite the rater demanding out-of-focus pink variety. Well, that’s my thinking on it.

  3. John Linn says:

    THe second image is very nice, but I cannot say I like the ring-shaped bokeh in the first… I find it distracts from the in-focus flowers.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks John. I deliberately chose an image that would be contentious. You either like it or loathe it! And both opinions are entirely valid.

  4. Fascinating – that bokeh on the highlights is very distinctive, and definitely something that could be effective if managed carefully. Thanks for the very illustrative images!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment. ‘Managed carefully’ are the key words, for sure. A tricky lens to use but for its long reach its a bargain financially

  5. Both terrific images Andy and I do like bokeh so the first one is my favorite.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Edith. its 2:1 in favour of those who ‘like’ the first one rather than ‘dislike’ it so far! I knew it would divide opinion, a Mirror Lens is a challenging piece of glass.

  6. Chillbrook says:

    I really like both these images Andy although I’m still not really sure about the rings.

  7. Phillip says:

    Interesting – I’ve never used a mirror lens, but have heard about the way it works. I kinda like the results in the first picture. Both are done well.

  8. Helen Cherry says:

    particularly love the daisies and I’d never even heard of a mirror lens !! I can be such a peasant !

Comments are closed.