Bluebells close to home

Bluebells are not the easiest of Spring flowers to photograph but they are most definitely one of the Icons of the season. They create a haze of blue, and that is how they are commonly photographed – en masse. My attempts to photograph them have been well documented here and here.

DSC_2121_wpIn addition to the wild bluebells that are so well known, there are also cultivated varieties. These tend to be larger, sturdier plants and come in blue, pink and white. We have them growing at the end of our garden underneath the fruit trees where we let the grass grow long in Springtime.

DSC_6251_wpThese images are from previous years when the late afternoon light has graciously appeared, and when the ground is dry enough for a session of lying flat on the grass without getting soaked, with a Mirror Lens for company. All three of today’s images were taken with the Mirror Lens. I love the way it isolates and creates its own unique atmosphere.

DSC_6244

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bluebells close to home

  1. oneowner says:

    The mirror lens does an excellent job of isolating the subject from the background, Andy.

  2. athyfoto says:

    Wonderful springtime images Andy. I firstly just scrolled down the images before reading and was struck by the out of focus background that was at first puzzling me. When I read the post and saw you had used a cat lens it all made sense. Many years ago I used to long to own a 500mm mirror lens but could never afford one. I ended up with a cheap 400mm prime of dubious origin that I needed a friend to go and hold the front end while I was way back at the camera end hehehehe 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Frank. I’ve had this lens about 30yrs. It got very little use in the film era – It was a bit of a nightmare because the exposure was always difficult to get right, and if it wasn’t exactly right then the transparency was a waste – and I wasted too much. Now in the digital era it is so much easier to use and, like anything, the more you use it the better you get at using it. And it’s so compact, and weighs about the same as a decent lens or the camera body. Mine’s a Tamron 500mm (on my DX body that’s a whopping 750mm), you can get a second hand one of those for about £200. If you use Nikon then a Nikon version would set you back about £400. Grays of Westminster usually have one or two on their second hand list if you’re ever interested. There are several more posts of Mirror images in the Mirror category in the Rt Sidebar on the blog if you want to take a look.

  3. John Linn says:

    I love these spring time shots. The mirror certainly has its own bokeh pattern that can get in the way of the subject, but when done with discretion it can be an interesting.

  4. Chillbrook says:

    These are lovely Andy.

  5. Beautifully captured Andy…they really stand out

  6. poppytump says:

    Ah lovely ! The green and blue contrast is so striking .
    I found a bluebell wood yesterday … and was fortunate with the sunshine 🙂

  7. What I like about the second one especially is the fan of foliage.

  8. Len says:

    I love how you put the bluebells against the great green bokeh in the first shot Andy. They really pop.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. It’s the beauty of working in one’s own garden. All the time in the world, and nor far to travel if you want to re-visit!

  9. Meanderer says:

    Bluebells aren’t very easy to photograph but you have really made them stand out here. Lovely.

Comments are closed.