We Carry Bikes

SBB – Swiss Federal Railways (in German: Schweizerische Bundesbahnen) carries bikes.

It’s clear for all to see in a minimalist black and white graphic beside a train door.

IMG_5874_wpOr in colour, in a choice of styles.

IMG_5873_wpWhile waiting for a connection at Visp, I walked up and down the platform and shot these images.

IMG_5876_wpWhat else would a photographer do with his time?! I’m easily bored, and there is always something to capture. And no-one stops you in Switzerland, unlike in the UK where I have nearly had my camera confiscated for using it at my local station.

 If you want to take a bike on SBB, then read the information on SBB’s website first. Click here to go to the relevant page in English. The page of course is available in German, French and Italian.

Have you visited my other blog – iSighting – yet? New post up there today ‘Three-Sixty Degrees‘. Part of a series of posts on Learning to See. Do take a look.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in En Route and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to We Carry Bikes

  1. I like these and for me the second works best. The blue panel on the train is complimented nicely with the reflection of what appears to be blue sky and possibly mountains! I say reflection but it could be the scene through the opposite window?
    The approach of security at rail and bus stations in the UK is unfathomable. If you have a camera they will stop you taking photographs and yet someone with an iPhone can snap away quite happily. I was advised in no uncertain terms by security at Sheffield bus station not to take photographs of a Bill Drummond art poster. The chap who was eventually very pleasant said it was to prevent terrorists from taking photographs! Interestingly there are no signs advising people that photography is prohibited! Equally interesting is that if I was to seek permission I could take photographs!
    It seems to me that someone needed to justify their job and came up with some paperwork about which they could have a number of policy meetings before having more meetings to brief station workers before incorporating new rules about taking photographs and then incorporating them into the staff induction manual.
    The fact that most of the railway system is un-policed 90.0% of the time seems to have escaped the Q&A session at the first meeting. If this small fact had been raised then the person who instigated the policy might have been given the stupid hat instead of a pay rise!
    The policy of preventing people taking photographs on railway and bus stations is complete nonsense whichever way you look at it.
    Sorry did I go on a bit? 🙂
    Have a good weekend…. PC

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Nigel. Yes – it’s reflected blue sky and a mountain that you can see in the second image. In the instance I mentioned at a UK station, I was actually photographing a building alongside the station that was not part of the station at all. It’s petty officiousness. And the daft point is that it is perfectly possible to shoot with an iPhone without notice and get as detailed an image as would be needed for any nefarious purpose. My purposes are never nefarious and I always carry my RPS membership card to prove I am a bona-fide photography.

  2. Len says:

    I guess my thought to you would be that I like it when you are bored. Nice images Andy.

  3. oneowner says:

    Havin a camera handy is great for those easily bored. I take mine wherever possible, even if I don’t use it. These are all very nice, Andy.

  4. Chillbrook says:

    Surrounded by jobsworths. What possible reason could a BR member of staff have for trying to confiscate your camera Andy? Outrageous. I too like it when you get bored.

  5. Chillbrook says:

    Sorry, I missed Postcard Cafes response. Is that really what it’s all about. We’re all on a ship sinking in the worst kind of bureaucratic nonsense..

  6. This post highlights the vision that you have for capturing things of interest. I was just over on iSighting talking about how many only see what is directly in front of them.

    What seems ordinary to many (logos, signage, etc.) can be artful and a topic of interest to those with vision.

    Nice photos, Andy! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      That’s very kind of you Jimi – thank you. My son’s a designer and art director and I think we both look for images that have a graphic content.

  7. Jim Nix says:

    very cool, good eye Andy!

Comments are closed.