Happy Birthday Bertie

Last Sunday our daughter’s dog Bertie (an Entlebucher), celebrated his second birthday. By pure coincidence that event coincided with Mothering Sunday this year. And so we travelled to our daughter’s new home where she cooked a superb Sunday roast for her mother and me. Thank you so much Sophie, it was delicious. _DS78758_wpOf course I took a few images of Bertie. He is now fully grown, and he’s calmed down significantly now he is two years old. Actually I think he looks a little solemn in these pictures, but that’s probably because No 2 Human was away for a weekend skiing and he was missing him. _DS78762_wpThose of you who have followed this blog for sometime will remember two earlier posts with images of Bertie.

_DS78766_wpBut for those who haven’t, (and have never heard of the breed ‘Entlebucher’) click here for the first images of Bertie, or here to see Bertie when he was nine months old.

_DS78767_wpHowever, the image that gives me the greatest satisfaction from a purely visual perspective is the one that follows below that I would call: ‘Where White Meets Black’. This is just a close-up of a patch of white hair at the back of his neck near his right shoulder.

_DS78761_wp

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Animals and Wild Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Happy Birthday Bertie

  1. Awww he sure is beautiful and these are lovely shots of him. Happy birthday Bertie 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      He’s a handsome dog, Norma, for sure. Thanks for your comment.

      • janina says:

        Definitely handsome and so regal! Kinda reminds me of one of our Australian breeds, but the name escapes me…kelpie, perhaps?! I like that last pic, great detail and colour.

        • LensScaper says:

          Thanks Janina. Glad you liked the last one. Bizarrely that asymmetric splash of white hair means he would never stand a chance of winning any prizes in a dog show. But we are not bothered – he’s a handsome dog. End of story!

  2. Chillbrook says:

    I can see why the last image gives you so much satisfaction Andy. I really like it! That said Bertie is a handsome chap and your portraits are lovely.

  3. oneowner says:

    I like that closeup, too. And happy birthday to Bertie.

  4. athyfoto says:

    First one is a really nice portrait, and I love the detail shot at the end.

  5. Happy Birthday Bertie! Great shots Andy. I just want to give Bertie a hug 🙂

  6. poppytump says:

    Love his flopped over almost too big ears ! Nice close up .. I wouldn’t be surpised if the title was in your mind as you were pressing the shutter …

  7. Len says:

    Happy birthday to Bertie. I am sure it can be a challenge keeping him still (at least it is for my dog).

  8. That Bertie is a handsome fella, Happy Birthday!
    Great photos, Andy. I really like that first one, what a great portrait. 🙂

Comments are closed.