From the Train

For me, the journey is always part of the holiday, and also part of the photographic experience. The camera is always within easy reach in a pocket if not in my hand; at the airport, at the station and on the train. From Geneva airport the train we regularly use goes through prime wine growing areas, skirting the shores of Lake Geneva (Lac Leman) passing through Lausanne and Montreux to Martigny and from there up the Rhone valley to Visp where we change trains to reach Zermatt.

IMG_4286_edited-WPIt seems that every available space is terraced for vines, and if not for vines then the valley floor is peppered with orchards of fruit trees. In winter (but not this one) snow will often reach down to the valley floor and produce stark landscapes – patchwork quilts perhaps – of the precisely planted vines (see above).

IMG_5890_wpOccasionally the Autoroute is close to the tracks and the train outstrips the cars motoring at 80mph.

IMG_5882_1wpAnd then there are the towns where the train passes through industrial estates, past glass fronted buildings, where we see ourselves reflected – or if not ourselves, the train.

This last image has been processed to give the impression of speed. I made a selection of the rail tracks and added motion blur, and then inverted the selection to allow the upper half of the image to be separately processed to produce a sharper and more vibrant result.

IMG_5882For information the original unedited RAW file is attached at left. Click it, and any image in this post to see a higher quality enlargement.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in En Route and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to From the Train

  1. Len says:

    Excellent travel images Andy. You are right, getting there is part of the photographic journey. Really like the reflection of the train image.

  2. oneowner says:

    Great images, Andy. I especially like the black and white aerial shot. Well done.

  3. These are all very nice. I like the first one the best; even though it’s farmland the rows (and the b&w processing) give it the feel of corrugated metal.

  4. John Linn says:

    I see the reflection of an SBB RE460 locomotive… my favorite. I have a much smaller one around my christmas tree each year!

    Love these shots. Wish I was there. Travel by train is so much more fun than the car.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks John. We’ve done this journey by train and car many times. Car makes the ‘what the take’ a lot easier, and allows stops that are at our discretion. But as the driver I never really get to see the countryside. Train is more relaxed, and with a window seat there is marvelous view. But I am finding the lifting of 40kgs of luggage up onto trains and into luggage racks a bit tiring.

  5. Lovely series of shots, Andy. I have always enjoyed train rides and this one seems to have been quite a bit of fun. My favorite here is the reflective train in the glass-clad building as you zip past. Great shot.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Jimi. I’ve tried to get an image of the train passing a glass-fronted building for several years and finally got it! The original looked unexciting but it’s always surprising to discover how much Photoshop can extract from a lack-lustre RAW file

  6. ShimonZ says:

    You’ve got a couple of really beautiful shots here. I often feel a great frustration when traveling by train… seeing images that I would like to spend some time with, and they are gone by before I’ve actually managed to fully receive them…

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Shimon. I know exactly what you mean. It’s very difficult to take images from a train. They are gone in a flash. Most of mine happen when the train is slowing down for a station. You only see the ones I get right – all the failure are deleted!

Comments are closed.