Castor and Pollux

The skis have been returned to the ski shop, the suitcase is half packed. Another holiday is coming to an end. What a superb week – six days of Spring skiing under blue skies. Something to cherish, because we will probably never be quite so lucky ever again.

Today’s image is unashamedly a ‘chocolate box’ image to close out the week. it’s the scenery that is so spectacular about Zermatt. Zermatt is host to the greatest concentration of 4,000 metre Alpine peaks anywhere in the European Alps. Wherever you ski in the Zermatt valley the backdrop is always stupendous.

IMG_5803_wpJust two peaks out of many – often referred to as the heavenly twins – these are named Castor and Pollux. A small segment of a colossal view – as it was this morning.

My apologies that I have not viewed, liked or commented on all the blogs I regularly visit during the past week – but I know you will understand why. I’ve been on holiday!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in MountainScape, Skiing - Zermatt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Castor and Pollux

  1. Phillip says:

    It sounds like you’ve had a great trip Andy!

  2. ShimonZ says:

    How good to be on holiday… much better than to be visiting blogs.

  3. Len says:

    Looks like we both were on holiday at the same time Andy. Looks like you had a great time. Beautiful image.

Comments are closed.