The Italian View

The classic view of the Matterhorn is the one seen from Zermatt. That is indisputably the iconic view.

_DS78657_wpToday I skied over into Italy and down towards Cervinia on another fantastic blue-sky day. The Matterhorn looks very different from Italy. It is still an extraordinary sight, but in my opinion it lacks some of the jaw-dropping outline seen from Zermatt.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in MountainScape, Skiing - Zermatt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Italian View

  1. Chillbrook says:

    I’ve been to Zermatt a couple of times and I have to agree with you Andy, this view doesn’t quite have the same x-factor. Lovely photograph mind you and what wonderfuf weather you’re having. The same high has given us a few nice days too.

    • LensScaper says:

      I don’t think I’ve ever had weather quite as good as this. By the time we finish we will have had a straight six days of sun. Amazingly the pistes are still superb. But then we are up high. Kl Matterhorn is 3,800metres and that’s where the top run starts from. Red Seven (Ventina) from Testa Grigia straight down to Cervinia has to be one of the top runs in the Alps. It was fabulous today.

  2. oneowner says:

    It’s certainly a gorgeous view. Sounds like you’re having agreat time.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. We are certainly having some fabulous weather, I can’t find a sun screen strong enough. I am now referred to as Rudolph (as in reindeer!)

  3. ShimonZ says:

    How wonderful to see the sights while coasting over the snow…

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Shimon. Skiing is a magical way of moving around the mountains. I spent the entire day today with my Nikon dSLR strapped to the front of my chest so it was instantly available for use.

Comments are closed.