Nature’s Abstracts

A week or more ago I wrote about how it can be difficult to find something new to say about a place that has been re-visited several times and well documented photographically.

_DS78536_wpLooking steeply down onto the Gorner glacier from Gornergrat earlier today I spotted the familiar hollows in the glacier’s surface that I have photographed before and written about – click here, and also here – but there was something new. Spidery fingers of blackness were extending out onto the glacier’s surface. A strange phenomenon, but I think I understand what has been happening.

We are looking vertically down about 1,000ft to the glacier, maybe more, and at the foot of the image you can see a fraction of this near-vertical cliff. The high temperatures are causing snow to melt and with the melt, grit is also trickling out of this cliff (actually a colossal lateral moraine) and out onto the glacier. And it is that dark watery grit that is causing this weird appearance (I think).

_DS78547_wpFocusing in on the edge of the glacier is fascinating.  What do you see: a tree’s root system perhaps. Bizarre spidery monsters?

_DS78549_wpWhatever you see it’s an example of nature’s abstract art.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in MountainScape and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Nature’s Abstracts

  1. oneowner says:

    The wider the angle the more abstract appeal there is to my eye. But still, all very nicely seen.

  2. John Linn says:

    Gee, I thought it was the foam on top of your latte. 🙂

    Nifty pictures.

  3. ShimonZ says:

    Often we look at something familiar, and see it anew. I’ve compared shots of the same subject taken year after year, and found some striking differences at times. These pictures are fascinating.

  4. seekraz says:

    Very nice, Andy…provoking the imagination.

  5. rabthecab says:

    Excellent shots Andy. In the final shot I see blood running up the picture/down the mountain. I also see a number of partial faces; mainly eyes (which I also see a couple of in image 2.)

    Now, having just looked at the first image again I see that’s alive as well!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks. The amazing thing is that those shapes in the main body of the Glacier have barely moved in two and a half years now. How slow can a glacier move?

  6. Fantastic Andy. Love these images particularly the first one.

  7. Meanderer says:

    Super abstracts. I like them a lot.

  8. Aquileana says:

    Captivating as an abstract idea brought into the spotlight. Great blog, Aquileana 😛

Comments are closed.