At One’s Feet

When I return to the same ski area, time and time again, it becomes harder to think of something new to find visually.

Strangely the answer might be right in front of me, actually at my feet.

_DS74534_bwThrough the long cold hours of the night, the piste bashers labour in their huge machines to iron out the rucked up snow that a day’s worth of skiing has displaced. And by the time the up-lifts start rolling the following morning, the snow lies groomed like corduroy.

And there is another more subtle and unseen force a work. Silently re-shaping the snow. God’s Sandpaper. The wind has been at work, driving ice crystals – spindrift – that erratically and abstractly erodes the laminated snow cover.  Delicate layers are stripped away by this unseen artist. Each canvas is unique. _DS74591_bwThe beauty of the ski slopes is in the unexpected. It’s in the vistas, the long views over cloud filled valleys laid out before me.

IMG_2820_wpAnd it’s also in the exotic dancing of the snow-sport participants, as boarder and skier flash by trailing snow plumes behind them.

DSC_9048_wpOver on my other blog – iSighting – there’s a Post today about photography in high places – on the ski slopes and mountaineering. Do take a look, click the link: Going Solo.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Skiing - General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to At One’s Feet

  1. oneowner says:

    Great shots, Andy, especially the lead photo. Well seen.

  2. John Linn says:

    I agree with Ken… these are really nice.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    I love these pictures Andy, the textures in the first remind of sand on a beach.

  4. Meanderer says:

    I really like the first two images. The first one does look like corduroy. It also made my eyes go a bit funny as I scrolled up and down, and reminded me of the old testcard. Patterns like this would indicate problems with the horizontal hold 🙂

    I like the abstract quality of the second image. The patterns are lovely, reminding me of decorative textured patio or bathroom floor tiles.

  5. Very nieces images, Andy. The first shot reminds me a plowed field, seen from the air.

  6. Jim Nix says:

    very cool patterns Andy, great eye!

Comments are closed.