Seeing the Exhibition, Viewing the People

We were in London 2 days ago to see the huge exhibition of Paul Klee at Tate Modern. An astonishing and vast body of work from one of the giants and creative innovators of the twentieth century. Klee (Swiss-German) was a contemporary of Kandinsky and an artist closely associated with the Bauhaus movement where he taught and worked in the 1930s. What struck me most about this extraordinary exhibition was the diversity of Klee’s output, and not just longitudinally, but also within any single year. The exhibition has only a couple more days to run (closing on March 9) but if you are in the area and have an opportunity do not miss it.

_DS78302_wpAs photographers, we draw inspiration from seeing the work of other artists. And certainly Klee inspired me. After a few weeks of being in a creative wilderness due to a lot else going on in life, I feel creativity returning

_DS78307_wpMy wife and I parted company for a while after viewing Klee: she went off to the bookshops, I went in search of images.

The building now housing Tate Modern (said to be the most-visited modern art gallery in the world) used to be Bankside Power Station. At the heart of the building is a vast space – the Turbine Hall – that once housed the electricity generators. This space often houses specially commissioned installations but the space was empty when we visited. Instead people strolled – diminutive figures in the vastness.

I stood and watched them flow through the space, catching a few images, three of which you see here.

_DS78305_wpClick on any image to see a higher quality enlargement.

Which image do you prefer and why? Do make a comment.

Meanwhile, over on my sister blog iSighting. there’s a post about the potential problems of walking with non-photographers: maybe your partner, your family, your friends. How does that work for you? View the post, click the link: Photography is a good walk spoiled.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in The Human touch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Seeing the Exhibition, Viewing the People

  1. I prefer the vertical shot because of its greater graphic appeal. Did you hang out in this space for hours? I think I would have been tempted—if I didn’t have to worry about a spouse becoming impatient to leave.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. I spent about ten minutes viewing the people and hoping to get lucky. We then needed to head off to get a train. If you had the patience, a half hour would no doubt reward you with something better. I think your choice is the right one. It gives a better idea of the height of the Turbine Hall – it’s actually five storeys tall. And I liked just the pair of figures – no competing interest.

  2. mark says:

    The bottom one, for sure. I like the lines created by the wall on the right. The groupings of people also seem more focused.

  3. Len says:

    Glad the creativity mojo is coming back Andy. You picked a great place to visit. My favorite is the middle image. I think the portrait orientation creates a line with the light from the window and the people.

  4. You gave so much wonderful knowledge ! Thanks Len!

  5. Chillbrook says:

    I absolutely love the Tate Modern and the Turbine Hall. I used to visit regularly when I lived in Islington, very short bicycle ride away as you know. The first time I visited that vast space that is the Turbine Hall, empty at the time, just struck me as incredible. I like your portrait shot best Andy as it does give you some idea of just how vast this indoor space is.

Comments are closed.