The Future’s Orange

There’s a saying: ‘I thought I saw light at the end of the tunnel. But it was just my boss with more work and a torch’. Life’s a bit like that at the moment.

IMG_5483I am moonlighting as a Painter, Decorator, Handy Man etc for my son who has bought a flat in London that needs a rather more radical re-decoration than was first realised. The more work we do, the more we find to do. I think we have just about bottomed out the stripping of walls, ceilings etc, and the ripping out of skirting boards. Now the prepping of walls prior to painting is under way. So every day I’ve gone to work, I’ve been thinking: this is about as bad as it gets, and then something more is found to work on.

As a result of all this, my interaction with all of you has suffered somewhat. Apologies for that – normal service will be resumed soon.

Meanwhile I live in hope – for that big orange light at the end of the tunnel to turn out to be something warm and welcoming. Spring would do just fine.

And a word of caution to those with growing children: as they grow up the issues we may be asked to help with don’t just go away – they have a habit of becoming bigger and more expensive. But we love them just the same. Just thought you might like to know that! Or maybe not!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Future’s Orange

  1. bananabatman says:

    I can relate to every one of your words in this post. I’ve been there. It does get better as they eventually begin to realise that, just maybe, Dad is getting older as well. This may take a while.

    As you say – The Future is Orange and Roll on Spring!

  2. This made me smile – my husband spent every weekend this summer helping our son build a deck in his backyard. They are both architects, so of course it wasn’t just ANY deck. It has angles and levels and downlighting and uplighting and a nook for a hammock and a spot for a grill and….

    • LensScaper says:

      We all do it, don’t we. Thirty years ago when I renovated a house, sadly my Dad had already passed on. It’s good that I am still around to help my son, but looking back I would have loved to have been able to enjoy my father’s help.

  3. Len says:

    Your words are so true Andy. No matter how old they get they still seem to need our help. I am sure that while you don’t like doing that work, you do like helping him out.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len – yes it’s good to be able to help, and pass on some skills and advice to the next generation. My son has vision and I’m sure the result will be worth all the hard work.

  4. oneowner says:

    Great shot, Andy. And when you’re finished there we have some painting and refinishing here for you to do.

  5. I can definitely relate to what you write, Andy. But as you say, we love them just the same. A refreshing image, is it part of the radical re-decoration you are talking about?

  6. Oh, how true this is, my friend. 🙂
    It’s great to be in a position to help out though. We love our families and well, there are times when that extra work just becomes part of the love-fest. 🙂

    Really digging your image here today. Nice piece of artwork.

  7. Phillip says:

    Reading your story and comments reminds me of when my dad helped Cindy and I remodel our future home, 29 years ago. I know that this time helping your son is special to you, but you are also building a memory that he will cherish for the rest of his life.

    We now have such wonderful memories of my dad and us working together, and all the things that we accomplished that would have been impossible without his help. He had always been healthy and strong as an ox, even though he was 75 at the time. After we had finished, and were still looking forward to the wedding, graduating college, starting a new job, and preparing to move in our home in just a few months, he suddenly died of a heart attack. It was in March just 3 months before our wedding. I wouldn’t take anything for that time together now. Thanks for reminding me of the memories.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Phillip for that wonderful story from your own past. Sadly my father died at 63, just two years after I got married and although he saw our first little house, he died too soon to be able to see his grandchildren and the various other houses we have lived in and worked to improve.

Comments are closed.