Silhouettes

Back in March 2012, I posted ‘Poster People’. It included images of a sculpture called ‘Chain Reaction’ and my last line in that post was: ‘I plan to re-visit during the year to see how I can improve…’

Well it’s only taken nearly two years! If you think back two weeks you might remember the post: ‘Walking the Dog(s)‘. That was a black and white silhouette of a couple with dog(s). Today’s image was taken on the same shoot, four minutes later.

_DS78235_wpAnother silhouette – but just of people and a small part of the superb sculpture ‘Chain Reaction’ by Ray Smith that stands in Campbell Park, Milton Keynes.

I wouldn’t say that today’s image is an improvement on what I posted nearly two years ago, it’s really more of the same. But also it’s an example of how two very different images can result from a single shoot, within a very short space of time.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Milton Keynes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Silhouettes

  1. I love the way you’ve composed this image. Lovely.

  2. Good composition. I like how open the hill is… If that were here in the States, it would likely be a landfill.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Rob. It’s a striking promontory of land that projects out above the parkland. I don’t know whether it is an original feature of the landscape, or whether it is in fact a ‘scaped’ deposit of earth etc that was dug out when the city of Milton Keynes was under construction.

  3. oneowner says:

    This is really a beautiful composition, Andy. Well done.

  4. Love this image, Andy! Silhouettes are some of my favorites. I agree with the others, this composition is killer. 😉

  5. Chillbrook says:

    Smashing photograph Andy, lovely compostion. I really like the contours and light on the green embankment. Really very nice indeed. I think this is definitely an improvemt on what were very nice images. Looking at the others, I can see it must have been quite a task to line this one up and wait for the figures to be so perfectly silhouetted. Fabulous work.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. Ideally I need to return to this place with a stepladder to gain the extra foot or so when the sculpture would line up with the promontory a little better. On this occasion it was the light that made the diference, although four minutes earlier I took the image of the couple with the dog that featured in the recent post

  6. ShimonZ says:

    I love this picture.

  7. Len says:

    The people walking in the background is a wonderful touch Andy. It really makes this image sing. Super creative, my friend.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for your comment, Len. I was lucky on that afternoon – it was one of the very few days of sunshine in the last month, and it brought people out.

  8. Interesting scene, like the rolling hill

  9. A very good composition.

Comments are closed.