Frosted Leaf

I don’t think we have average or ‘ordinary’ winters any longer. We just get extremes that arrive and won’t go away. It seems to have rained and blown non-stop for about a month – a traffic jam of deep depressions queuing up to batter the UK.

Finally the ordeal has stopped. Well, only in one small way actually. The depressions, at least for the time being, have decided to vent their fury somewhere else. The problem is that the water lying over vast stretches of the countryside is still there, and it’s still filtering its way into rivers that are still, as I write, creating new flooding misery for people downstream who might, quite reasonably, have thought that the worst was over. And if you are flooded then the misery isn’t going to be over any time soon. I am forever grateful that we chose to live on higher ground.

The last month has also been mild – no frosts until the last two or three days. Last night looked like it was the coldest night of the winter so far. When I pulled back the curtains this morning I looked out over white-frosted roofs and gardens. Time to take the camera with me to fetch the Sunday papers.

_DS78187_WP

It’s a five-minute walk each way to the Petrol station on the main road at the edge of our village. And hiding under the hedgerows at 10:30 this morning, pockets of frost were still lingering and I grabbed a shot. Nothing special, but it’s nice to admire Jack Frost’s work. Better than mud and pools of water any day.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Frosted Leaf

  1. bananabatman says:

    I agree, but I’m afraid that my wife has different views. She hates frost and ice. Roll on the spring, then we can agree on the weather.

  2. Having just come home in full retreat from the weather, I’d have to agree about the extremes. You’ll see in my post this morning. That was a beautiful catch with the leaf.

    • LensScaper says:

      I’m aware that the arctic vortex has sent most of North America into a deep freeze – there were some amazing images of Niagara Falls partially frozen that I saw. I hope it’s beginning to warm up over there. Many thanks for your comment, Rob. I’ll catch up with your post later – it doesn’t appear on your blog just yet.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Still waiting for the first frost down here in the south-west Andy, now that would be nice, a spell of cold crisp sunny days..

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. We’ve had three to four days of calm weather and some blue skies up here (it really does raise one’s spirits), but another wet spell is headed our way by mid-week. More misery for some.

  4. It has been a very cold winter here and I agree with you about the extremes we now seem to experiences. On the plus side it does offer some wonderful photo ops. Beautiful image Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Sadly wind and rain aren’t photogenic, otherwise I would have a bucketful of images. I’ve heard about the problems you’ve been facing. Thanks for commenting Edith.

  5. This is a lovely, delicate photograph. That leaf looks like some sort of sugar-coated confection.

  6. oneowner says:

    Not bad for a “grab shot”, Andy. But I do like mud and pools of water, too! We have lots of those here.

  7. Len Saltiel says:

    Wonderful details in the frost and leaf Andy. This has more color than any leaf we have left over. Ours are totally absent of any color.

  8. superb photo Andy (well spotted)..I love the cold and ice but maybe that is because I lived in Ontario when I was a kid…now they get cold winters…

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks James. I had to hunt this one down – there was quite a large frosted area of leaf litter and finding a photogenic leaf was tough – this was the only one! Thankfully no arctic vortex here.

  9. I think it’s special and a rare moment captured, soon to melt !

  10. Surely the climate is pretty messed up these days. I would love to have some cold around where I am now. Great picture. I wish you all the best in 2014.

  11. Excellent Andy – you rarely miss a photographic opportunity!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Paul. We haven’t had many frosts this winter – yet. Looking forward to hearing how The Spine went this year – I’m a bit behind with catching up on other people’s posts at the moment.

  12. poppytump says:

    I love the idea of you sorting through the leaf litter Andy for just the right one, it’s the kind of thing I would do … my husband has quite got used to the stopping and starting out on walks together nowadays !
    Good choice 😉

Comments are closed.