Announcing iSighting

New Year, New Project, New Blog. Not a facelift, not a rebuild, and definitely not a replacement for this blog. An additional, brand new Blog.

It’s iSighting with the secondary strapline: ‘Observations from a Visual Journey’.

_DS75786_Header

Click on the image to see the header at full size

Finding an Eye Catching – or should I say iCatching – title for a new blog has been difficult. So many of the more visually-based titles were already taken but iSighting wasn’t. And it encapsulates a little of what I wanted. A title that hints at the core process of creative photography – the fact that it is the ‘why’, the ‘what’ and the ‘how’ we see (or employ our Eyesight), that drives our output.

This blog – LensScaper – is essentially an image-based blog and it will continue much as it is as a visual diary of what I capture, or have captured. The images here are the primary focus, with the writing adding context.

iSighting will be focused on the writing – my observations – with images being illustrative. It will tackle topics related to my own visual journey: Why I see what I see, how I learnt to see, and much else. I’m excited at the opportunities this new Blog provides for me to share something of what I have learned and discovered over the years. But I’m nervous too because frankly I have no qualifications to set myself up as an authority or teacher.

The Header of iSighting is what features above – the underlying image may be familiar to some of you – click here to see the original post in which it featured. There’s been some subtle re-arrangement of the original content: people have mysteriously shuffled about and one or two extras have joined the party, and the birds have flown around the sky. And then finally I added the Header text.

I’ve been busy in the last few days setting up all the parameters with which any WordPress blogger will be familiar. I think it all works – but if you spot a ‘Bug’ do please let me know. Unfortunately work connected with the launch of iSighting has limited my usual viewing and commenting on your work. My apologies for that, I will get re-engaged this weekend, I hope.

But, enough of me chattering on. iSighting is now LIVE! The first Post went public a few minutes ago, so do please go and take a look. Click HERE. I’d love to get your feedback. And then when you’ve had a look, if you like what you see, then sign up in the right sidebar. If you are signed up to LensScaper, remember you will still need to subscribe additionally to iSighting via the widget. And if you are new to my Blogs, well why not consider signing up to both blogs? They will be very different in content.

From now on my intention will be to Post on iSighting once a week, usually on a Friday. Posts on LensScaper will be twice a week in future on Mondays and Wednesdays.

I hope you like what you see – and I look forward to receiving your comments.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in A Personal Viewpoint and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Announcing iSighting

  1. Len says:

    Good luck with the new site Andy. I like the name and love your header image.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing the new site up and running Andy. The very best of luck with it!

Comments are closed.