Mountain of Mystery

I can’t resist posting another image from Zermatt. 2 days ago I posted an image of a five-mile section of ‘The Frontier Ridge’. Click here to read that Post and understand the context of today’s Post.

Turn clockwise through nearly 180degrees and your eye will irresistibly rest on the Matterhorn. An improbable pyramid of rock that has made Zermatt its fortune. A mountain that dominates the landscape and is one of the most recognizable mountains in the world. It’s also a peak that I have been privileged to stand on the top of – many years ago.

_DSC0512_wp

That mighty Frontier Ridge from the previous post – marking the Swiss/Italian border – curves around and goes straight over the summit of the Matterhorn. In fact the Matterhorn has a Swiss Summit and an Italian Summit separated by a narrow horizontal arête of about 25yards.

The Matterhorn has a mood for every day of the year, sometimes several moods in a day. It’s a cloud magnet, there are days when the mountain steams and smokes. Especially after a storm has passed through, clouds and mist will wreathe the mountain making it a mysterious object of desire. The image you see here is actually a summer image on a day when the mountain looks far from sunny. But it’s on a day like this that the Mountain is perhaps at its most majestic and formidable.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, MountainScape, Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Mountain of Mystery

  1. Chillbrook says:

    I have spent time in Zermatt Andy. Love the place. The mountain demands attention. Majestic indeed. This is a superb photo.

  2. I never tire of your Matterhorn images Andy, and though my preference is usually for colour, the use of B&W here heightens the sense of drama.

  3. Simply stunning. I would love to see that mountain in person someday.

  4. I love your Zermatt images Andy. And this one is no exception. Just beautiful.

  5. seekraz says:

    Now THAT is a mountain! Incredible, Andy…and how nice that you’ve been to the summit. What an accomplishment. Beautiful image, too.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Scott. It is a true mountain – it stands in an isolated space which increases the impact that it has. I was 19 when I climbed this – an extraordinary climb on a perfect day.

  6. oneowner says:

    Majestic is an understatement. This is very impressive.

  7. very majestic Andy…you are very lucky to see this mountain and to stand on it’s summit

  8. Phillip says:

    Wow. What a beautiful image!

Comments are closed.