Above the Heart

The title of this Post will only make any sense if you saw my last post (click here to view). Today’s image is in response to a request. You see – I do listen to requests. Melinda Green Harvey (do take a look at her blog ‘One Day, One Image’ – it’s a blog I always enjoy viewing), asked if I had any other pictures of the building whose heart was bursting through its skin. The answer is: just the one, and here it is.

IMG_5296_wp

Disappointing perhaps – you were hoping for something more out-of-the-ordinary perhaps? Higher up. this building is much like many other buildings. Except it’s not. Not when you note the trees and their reflections, and how the building can be shown to relate to its environment in a rather attractive way.

Any other requests? Sensible ones only! But seriously it’s always good to hear your comments – we grow as photographers through interaction, so keep commenting. And if that assists the flow and output of this Blog, then that can only be a good thing.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Above the Heart

  1. ShimonZ says:

    This is a an especially beautiful photograph that shows the building at its best (for me). I really like the reflections of the trees.

  2. I agree with Shimon Andy. This is a beautiful image and I love the perspective and the reflections on the glass.

    • LensScaper says:

      It appealed to me too, Edith. The trees, for this time of year, with some of the leaves already lost, added something rather special to the facade. I will be back in winter and in spring to see how it changes.

  3. oneowner says:

    I like how the clouds and trees reflect on the glass in this photo. It’s a great looking building.

    • LensScaper says:

      Strange how a building can have two entirely different faces – the rather brash ‘heart’ bursting through the buildings frontage, and the rather sedate (by some standards) upper floors. But the glass and the reflections make all the difference, don’t they. Thanks, Ken for the comment.

  4. I like the optical illusion effect at the top of the building – it’s hard to tell what’s sky and what’s building.

    (Thanks for the mention, too!)

  5. Chillbrook says:

    Fabulous picture Andy!

  6. ehpem says:

    Nice building! And I don’t think it is all that ordinary (heart or no) – I like the patterns in the glass which must be interesting even when the reflections are subdued

  7. Len Saltiel says:

    That reflection is killer Andy. Perfectly captured.

  8. poppytump says:

    The stillness in this gorgeous reflective facade I’m sure belies the frenzy of interior activity .. just a hint with just the one or two office lamps gives us a clue perhaps …
    I really like it Andy .

    • LensScaper says:

      Facades hide everything don’t they. I’ve no idea what business goes on inside this building – I must see if I can find out who they are next time I pass this way. Thanks for commenting, Poppy.

Comments are closed.