Variety Street

If one of the measures of a City’s status is the vitality and diversity of its modern architecture, then London is right up there with the greats.

Walk through London, not just the well-known streets, but the back waters and observe. Regularly I walk from Euston Station (my rail terminus) south to Oxford Circus. I vary my route, but whichever streets I take, I end up skirting the Telecom Tower, and the site of the old Middlesex Hospital (now the scene of massive development into Fitzroy Place). On one single street, just south of the Telecom Tower, you will find the two buildings that illustrate this post – facing each other.

On the North side of the street, is a building that wears its heart on its sleeve – physically. A pulsing, pumping heart that appears to be bursting through its skin as if to say: ‘Love Me’. This is bold, brassy, dramatic architecture that shouts for – demands – attention.

IMG_4664_wp

On the South side of the street, directly opposite and nearing completion is this über-cool building (below). The complete opposite. A minimalist, sinuous, sine wave frontage.  Pure simple lines that don’t shout, but still manage to make a powerful statement. This is the apotheosis of the fact that you don’t have to be loud to get noticed.

IMG_5299_crop_wp

What a contrast. How clever. It’s always good to hear from you – which of these buildings do you prefer?

Click on an image to see a higher quality enlargement

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, London and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Variety Street

  1. Len Saltiel says:

    Wow, that first shot is quite the unusual one Andy.Love the second one with some great lines and patterens.

  2. Very interesting. Love whatever that first one is!

  3. oneowner says:

    I like both buildings but I have to say the heart makes me smile. It’s fantastic.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. When I first saw that extraordinary extra-corporeal heart I thought: ‘What the heck is that!’ I’ve never seen anything quite like it and probably never will again. It certainly grabs one’s attention.

  4. Both buildings look unique – and a well capture in the photographs. I really like the subtle tones and matte reflections in the second picture. As for the first one it reminds me of Dr. Otto Octavius in the second Spider-Man film.

  5. Oooh – the first one! (Can I ask a favor – could you post some other shots of that first one? I’d like to see the “heart” in context with the rest of the building.)

    • LensScaper says:

      I have one other image, Melinda. Which is of a very ordinary building (when you look up to the upper levels). Unless I am mis-remembering. will check the archives and see what I can do.

  6. vastlycurious.com says:

    The second appeals on many levels!

  7. poppytump says:

    Opposites attract 🙂
    Call me old fashioned but I love the *Heart …
    So many wonderful unusual photo opportunities in ever changing London maybe you’ll show more from your regular walks perhaps ?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Poppy. London is full of interesting images, and whenever I go down to London there is always a camera in my hand ready to use – usually a Canon G10, sometimes a dSLR. There are a lot of posts about London in the ‘London’ category (in the Rt Sidebar) on my blog. You’re very welcome to have a look through them.

  8. Jim Nix says:

    that’s just way too cool, and I love that heart one best! so cool! will have to meet up with you if/when I get back to London and you can take me here! 🙂

  9. Sweet shots, definitely the first one for me

  10. ehpem says:

    I have to go for the first shot – it is such a great statement. I do like the second building too, especially how the horizontal lines at each floor cut through the verticals. It probably has quite a stripey look from afar.

    • LensScaper says:

      That building is a real one-off isn’t it. I’d like to know who the architect is. as far as the second is concerned it’s not easy to get a distant view because this is quite a narrow street. Might be easier when the trees have lost all their leaves. I will walk that route again this winter.

Comments are closed.