5oopx

More of an announcement than a Post today. Thanks to the luck of the draw and the considerable generosity of Jim Nix, who very kindly put an unwanted Awesome subscription to 500px up for takers, I am the lucky winner of this gift subscription. Thanks so much Jim. You will find Jim’s high quality travel photography at Nomadic Pursuits. If you are not familiar with his work – do take a look, you won’t be disappointed.

500px will be known to some of you, but not to all. 500px is a photo-sharing website. It has similarities with Flickr but it’s content is more associated with the higher quality end of the spectrum. Well – that’s what I’ve read, and what I observe from a week getting to grips with the interface. First impressions are that the photography is superb and inspiring. On the flipside I would say that 500px could be a little more user-friendly to new-comers. If you can create an impressive website, you can create an idiot’s guide to getting started and explain how it all works. Yes, there’s a support page and a Q&A page but finding the answer, or the explanation to something, can be unnecessarily hard work.

_DS74792_Topaz_wp

Are you on 500px? If so, do get in touch, so we can link up. For those with 500px accounts you will find me by my real name, for those without – click here. My gallery will slowly grow and a Portfolio will follow.

And so to today’s image. What can I say: it’s four hundred and ten short of five hundred! I couldn’t find one with the right number so this one will have to do. Taken after dark in London on my first after-dark outing with the D7000 Nikon, there’s a story to this image. I’d wound the ISO up a bit as dusk arrived walking down through the back streets to Oxford Circus.  But there came a point, with the light fast gone, where the ISO needed to be higher still. The buttons and dials to change the ISO were exactly the same as on my older camera but I couldn’t see the ISO changing in the Control Panel – the light was too low. So, wanting to take this image, I was reduced to wandering up and down the street trying to find a bright enough light to see the settings change! I had completely forgotten that by pressing the Info button on the back of the camera the monitor screen would light up and I could see all the settings and change them visibly. Memo to self: read, and re-read and then re-read the User Manual. I won’t make that same mistake again.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in A Personal Viewpoint, After Dark and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 5oopx

  1. Congratulations Andy, that’s great! I’ll check it out 🙂

  2. That, or swing the power on/off switch all the way back. The LCD display on top of the camera will light up.

  3. Andy – welcome to 500px! I joined up over there a few weeks ago, and our friend Ehpem’s there, too. You are right that it’s a little complicated to figure out, and I am not sure I’ve gotten very far on that! But there are stunning photographs every where you look. And how exciting that you got an Awesome membership! Anyway, I look forward to seeing you over there!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for the Info, Melinda. I’ll be popping over to check out your gallery and Ehpem’s also. I’m glad I’m not the only one who struggles with sites like this.

      • ehpem says:

        I’ll see you over there too – my gallery is also small and you will find it familiar from my blog. I am still not convinced that I need yet another outlet, and I think that to grow it could take a lot of work (=time) which is not where I need to be right now. But I occassionally add something new to it, and like to poke around and see what people are posting – and there are some fantastic photos posted.

        • LensScaper says:

          I’ve already explored your gallery on 500px and thanks for the ‘likes’ and ‘favorites’ from you – much appreciated. I like th style of 500px compared to Flickr – some of the photography is superb and inspiring. If only they could get the simple things right. Email notifications have never worked since I joined less than two weeks ago and despite a series of emails to and fro with support it is still not solved. Surely that’s one of the basic cogs of the set-up like it is in WordPress.

          • ehpem says:

            Agreed – I had some back and forth with support and gave up on it. Interesting to know that notifications aren’t working for others as well.

          • ehpem says:

            Update on the 500px notifications – I still don’t get them on my computer at home. But now that I have a cell phone, I get them there through a 500px app. Kind of annoying that it does not work on the computer though.

            • LensScaper says:

              I’ve done nothing further about notifications since I mentioned it – and of course they still don’t work. I haven’t explored the App for my iPhone, and maybe I should. Actually it’s about time, as my daughter keeps telling me, that I updated from the ‘3’ to the ‘5S’ then I can start to explore the limits of the phone.

  4. oneowner says:

    Congratulations, Andy. I will have to check out 500px further but my first impression is that it is very nice.
    This is a really nice shot. I have my ISO set to AUTO with a practical upper limit and it has been working out quite well. Much of the noise I get with the higher ISOs is reduced in LR, so I’ve been pretty fortunate in that respect.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. I don’t think I can set the ISO to auto on the Nikon – but then the User Manual is a full 326 pages long – I might have skipped the occasional page!

  5. Good luck on 500px. I’ve dabbled in it a little myself but never really made the most of it. I’ll stop by and take a look at your gallery.

  6. Len says:

    Congrats on the 500px subscription Andy. I have been on for quite a while. I try to post only my better shots and I haven’t been posting a lot recently. I’ll visit your site and connect. Very cool shot today.

  7. Welcome to 500px Andy. I’m there too (I think you found me already). Like Len I only try and post my best images but I haven’t been on in awhile. Need to get back.

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi Edith. Yes, I found you already! I’m being slow and selective too – some new stuff and some old stuff and I’m sure I’ll change my mind over time as to what stays up in the main gallery.

  8. Phillip says:

    Congratulations, Andy. I took a quick look at your amazing pictures. I most certainly will have to return!

  9. Congrats on the 500px. I will have to take a look!

  10. Jim Nix says:

    thanks for the mention Andy and hope you really enjoy 500px!

  11. ShimonZ says:

    You have some really beautiful pictures there. It was a pleasure to visit.

Comments are closed.