Out for Lunch #2

This is the second in a series on ‘Out for Lunch’ with a camera, others will follow. Today we are at Wrest Park. Wrest Park  – a country house and estate in Bedfordshire – has featured in a number of posts, most recently Hanging There and Tree Line.  It also has a nice café for lunch or tea.

One entire wall of this building is made of glass through which light pours on a sunny day and it has been the play of light and shadow across the café that has always caught my attention.

This first shot task was taken over a year ago – a scene-setting shot – when the café was empty.  I particularly like the harmonious colours employed in the design of this place.

Click on any image to see a higher quality enlargement.

DSC_4412_wp

When we were back most recently my eye turned to the detail of the light and shade on the floor. The first was taken at lunch. There was insignificant colour in the original and it was a very simple choice to opt for a B&W conversion.

_DS77908_wp

The second image, taken a couple of hours later, had much more colour in it, because of the inclusion of the yellow chairs. I experimented with a B&W conversion but it didn’t work at all, proving that in this instance the colour is a crucial element of the image – a contrast to the monochrome striping on the floor and the metal elements.

_DS78009_1_wp

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Out for Lunch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Out for Lunch #2

  1. I like the middle image a lot – I am a fan of photos that capture the interplay of light/shadows on floors. I also like the expanse of floor that you included in this shot.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Melinda. Light is the more remarkable the longer I live. Looking down is probably something we don’t do enough of. During the last few years I’ve collected quite a few looks of puzzlement or mild amusement, and noticed whispered comments that probably are along the lines of impugning my intelligence or mental health! Who cares – they are the ones who have eyes that are not used to their full potential!

      • My husband reports that often, when I am shooting, passersby will see me, stop, and look around trying to figure out what it is I see worthy of a photograph. Watching people watch me is his entertainment.

        Learning to look down/up/behind is part of our evolution as photographers.

        Last year, I read “The Practice of Contemplative Photography” (Andy Karr and Michael Wood); there are a lot of fantastic photographs in the book, but its real value is the series of lessons on how to see, or, more accurately, to See. Partly from the book and partly from shooting enough to feed my blog, I’ve made it to what I think of a total immersion photography: every single thing I see feels as if it could be a photograph. Sometimes, that feels a little manic, but mostly it feel exhilarating. And it’s led me to look for things like shadows on a floor….

  2. Len says:

    That middle image is awesome Andy. The shadows coupled with the texture in the floor rocks.

  3. oneowner says:

    I love the way the shadows flow across the floor in the middle photo and I do like the conversion. It seems well suited to it.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken – B&W always simplifies and that helps to strengthen the primary thread of an image. It worked in Image 2, but failed dismally in Image 3 – the large chair backs that rendered in mid tones degraded the whole image.

  4. You always have the clever ideas, nice, I really like the B&W

  5. Love these shots, Andy. That first one is my fave of the series. Love the shadow play.
    This series was a really great idea, man.

  6. ehpem says:

    On about the day you posted this I was sitting in a coffee shop, during my daily coffee break (=tea) looking at a scene just like this on the floor beside me, wishing for my camera.

    • LensScaper says:

      Ah – now that’s why my camera is almost always with me – because I never know when I might just see something worth capturing. So often they are the unexpected places.

Comments are closed.