Tarn Hows

When it rains in the Lake District it really rains. That’s why the Lakes are full, usually. And today the lakes are overflowing, the meadows around them are flooded, the roads in places are flooded too. It is wet.

And although the camera has managed to capture some images, I came away this week with a few images up my sleeve from a previous visit, so I didn’t have to spend time every evening processing images and being a general pain in the neck to my dear wife with my head buried in a computer all the time!

So, as cookery problems often say: Here’s one I made earlier!

114_DSC03306This is a very well known spot in the Lake District called Tarn Hows. It lies to the West of Lake Windermere and not far from Hawkshead and the Sawreys. Those places being famous for their association with Beatrix Potter the author of the Peter Rabbit books, and who will be well known to English readers with children and possibly others overseas too.

As you can see the weather was not brilliant on the day this image was taken either. Autumnal fog was present, but it was largely dry. Fog however is a classic feature of Autumn, or Fall, and sometimes the way it isolates the nearer landscape and obscures the distant landscape enables some features to achieve a prominence denied to them when, in good weather, the foreground is overlaid upon the background. Not all weather is bad, it’s a question of adapting the way we view the landscape.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tarn Hows

  1. ShimonZ says:

    The weather might not have been brilliant, but this picture certainly is. I love it. The fog is certainly part of its success. I often encounter difficulty in trying to portray a rainy day… not to speak of my fears for the camera. But since there’s this fear of dry spells in our country, there’s usually an enthusiasm for rain. Beautiful picture.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment, Shimon. Just returned from this year’s visit to Tarn Hows actually. No fog, but intermittent rain this time. I will be posting some images next week.

  2. This kind of grey weather I know everything about. I think grey weather makes very good pictures, like this one.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    A lovely composition Andy and as Shimon says, a beautiful picture.

  4. Moody and beautiful Andy.

  5. Len says:

    I an sure that you wished for better weather but fog adds so much atmosphere and mood. These both come through the photo Andy.

  6. Autumn also means that you don’t have to compete with another 100 photographers, all tripping up over themselves.

  7. excellent shot Andy…can’t have the Lakes without rain!

  8. oneowner says:

    When it comes to photography, there is no bad weather. Very nice shots, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      To plagiarize a quote about weather and clothing maybe one might say: No such thing as bad weather, only inappropriate photography. You just have to try and see the world a little differently.

  9. ehpem says:

    Lovely photo – we have been under steady fog for a week, and I have not taken advantage, but clearly I should be out there shooting.

  10. Great atmosphere in this one, well done

  11. Pete Buckley says:

    Tarn Hows could almost have been designed for photographers… and I agree – adverse weather can often add atmosphere to a shot. Great picture.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Pete. We were back here again earlier this week on a showery day and this image really didn’t exist to be taken due to the way the foreground interest became muddled in with the background. Plenty of other interest though – the bracken was spectacular, and hopefully I will get time to process a few of those and get them on the blog next week.

Comments are closed.