Squirrels

I was back in London about 10days ago walking along the Southbank when I caught sight of a new mural on the walls of the Queen Elizabeth Hall. A pair of Squirrels in dramatic pose. Getting into position to get a clear shot of this amazing work of art was not easy. I found the best place to shoot it from was standing on a table in the roof garden, but even so some work was required to straighten the image and remove some greenery that intruded into the base of the shot. The closer you get to this mural, the better you see its quality – it is superb.

_DS77474Click the image to see a higher quality enlargement.

Who was the Artist? I googled ‘Squirrels QE Hall’ and up popped Picturing England by Ali Muskett (Haikugirl) and there was my answer. Thank you Haikugirl. This is the work of Roa and from a brief view of Roa’s webpage this is a classic example of his work. I also discovered from my visit to Picturing England that I had missed a mural by Phlegm that was further back from the river in the same location. Having heard of this artist and seen a lot of his work in posts by Postcard Café I was annoyed with myself for not having wandered about a little more. But there will always be another opportunity.

PS – having posted this, I was reminded of another mural seen in London a couple of years ago, and that image is now up in ‘Another Roa Mural‘. Do take a look.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Street Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Squirrels

  1. There is a lot of detail in that work. Interesting piece. Nice shot! 🙂

  2. Great shot Andy. I’ve seen a few photographs of this mural and this is probably my favourite! The CCTV camera appears to be keeping an eye on the squirrels! Many people understandably often confuse the works of Roa and Phlegm because they both paint mainly in black and white. They have collaborated on a painting somewhere in London but I cannot remember where (sorry). You should check out the Phlegm mural next time you are at the Southbank. Thank you for adding the P/Cafe link. Have a great weekend, Best wishes N 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment, Nigel. I was pleased to be able to reference your site. There is some interesting work displayed on the Picturing England blog. I’m pretty sure there is another Roa mural near Brick Lane (now I have heard of him and understand his style). I left the CCTV camera in deliberately as you will no doubt realise – I liked the idea of big brother watching this space. Hopefully it will deter vandalism of this artwork.

  3. oneowner says:

    Great shot of a wonderful mural but I’d be interested in seeing a photo of you standing on a table in the roof garden taking this photo. You kids are crazy!

  4. I’m going a bit backwards in your posts today. These are really amazing murals. Wonderful shots (this one and your next post).

  5. Len says:

    Wow, that has to be one of the most unusual murals that I have seen in a while. Great shot of it Andy.

  6. Fantastic mural. I just viewed the other Roa mural, which is outstanding. Amazing detail on these squirrels.

  7. ehpem says:

    These are great. What a good way to fill up the blank walls of buildings, so much better than some of the alternatives. They immediately bring to mind the Redwall series of childrens stories that one of our boys read voraciously. Thanks for the link to Roa’s website, I especially like the squirrel partly in x-ray.

  8. seekraz says:

    I find the building art to be incredible…this is a wonderful and seriously playful/playfully serious image. I like it a lot.

    • LensScaper says:

      I thought this would appeal to you (and the other one by Roa). It is superbly executed. Playful is the right word, the arrangement of the two squirrels is masterful.

  9. Jim Nix says:

    that’s awesome Andy!

Comments are closed.