Another Roa Mural

Having just posted Squirrels earlier today – a mural on the Southbank by the artist Roa – I got to thinking about other murals I have photographed in London and suddenly I realized that I had already seen a work in a similar style just off Brick Lane back in 2011. (Don’t know if it is still there, though).

So I hunted through the hard drive and found it. Here it is – the style is unmistakable.

IMG_2233If you haven’t seen Squirrels, click the link in the first line of this post.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Street Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Another Roa Mural

  1. This is another nice shot of a wonderful mural. This must have made you smile when you stumbled upon it. The black and white paints used by Roa (and Phlegm) seem to work well on most surfaces but I’m sure that this is down to their skills, artistry and location selection. I don’t imagine this damaged and uneven wall was an easy surface on which to create such a detailed painting. It’s great to see such a nice photograph of this work. Best wishes, N

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment. I agree – this would not have been an ideal wall, but having viewed Roa’s website, the state of a wall is no impediment to the quality of the work.

  2. oneowner says:

    That’s extraordinary.

  3. It is amazing how the brick wall becomes feathers – the art completely overtakes the building materials!

  4. Len says:

    Amazing details in not only the mural but the image of it. Great processing Andy to bring them out.

  5. Helen Cherry says:

    I just love street art..

  6. This is a really awesome mural, Andy. I have always been impressed by the talent required to do an image on this scale, let alone, make it so beautiful and detailed. Nice capture, man.

  7. I just love Roa’s work. Creative Greed did an entire series on him but then vanished. Thanks for sharing! If you have not googled his other work you should indeed, all over the world.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for your comment and the info. I knew nothing about him until I googled ‘Squirrels’ and found his name. I had a brief look at his page on Tumblr, so I’m becoming aware of how widespread his work is. The quality of it is superb.

  8. ehpem says:

    You must have a lot of great photos to let this one just sit around for a couple of years!
    I really like this mural. And it is pretty cool how they fit the line of the head under the faint traces of the gable from the building-that-is-no-longer-next-door.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ephem. I’m not quite sure why this one got side-lined for so long. But with well over 5,000 images a year to choose from, some never get to see the light of day.

  9. seekraz says:

    Very nice image…the art goes well with the old brick.

  10. Jim Nix says:

    I love stuff like this, nicely seen and shot!

Comments are closed.